Gas Furnace Problem - HVAC - Page 2 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-11-2012, 12:14 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas furnace problem


i will check those when i get home, does anyone know if there is a schematic for the control board? the part number i found is 18099-13s or a substitute part # of B1809913s

Advertisement

Kissfan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 12:37 PM   #17
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,553
Rewards Points: 622
Default

Gas furnace problem


Hey Flyer
I'm not getting your reasoning on a faulty transformer considering the furnace start up?

Last edited by how; 10-11-2012 at 12:41 PM.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to how For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (10-11-2012)
Old 10-11-2012, 03:37 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas furnace problem


The transformer provides 24 volts. The draft inducer and hot surface igniter run off of 120 volts. He stated that the draft inducer would run and the HSI would glow but gas valve would not open.
Flyers28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 05:54 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas furnace problem


I didn't even think about it when I posted that but I checked the voltage to the pressure switch and I got 24v, that's why I need the schematic for the board, so I can see where the power for the gas valve goes between the transformer and 9 pin plug that attaches to the board
Kissfan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 07:14 PM   #20
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,553
Rewards Points: 622
Default

Gas furnace problem


Hello Flyer
So just what runs the thermostat to get all this going?
how is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to how For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (10-11-2012)
Old 10-11-2012, 08:15 PM   #21
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas furnace problem


When there is a call for heat the circuit between r and w in the control is closed. It the sends 24v through all the safety switches and eventually to the gas valve providing the 24v to open the valve.
Flyers28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 09:03 PM   #22
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,553
Rewards Points: 622
Default

Gas furnace problem


So as the transformer is providing 24V for this furnace to be cycling as far as it does, why are you suggesting for the OP to verify that the transformer is working?.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 11:17 PM   #23
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas furnace problem


ok so i unhooked the two wires from the gas valve and hooked them to my meter and tried to call for heat, and as soon as i did i read 18v, is there a relay on the board that could be stuck closed or something?
Kissfan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 01:24 AM   #24
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Gas furnace problem


18v to low....
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 11:28 AM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas furnace problem


having the same problem with my Goodman furnace,model #GMC-075-3, and so is my mother and another homeowner i know with the same units. mine was installed in 94, and has run well for years. My mothers and friends units are newer, but have also run well for years. So i believe power wiring and low voltage wiring are good and have checked that angle. Sometimes my furnace (and the others) starts fine, runs well for a time, then main burners shut down in the middle of a "call for heat", main burner still running, plenum temp ok. checked voltage to valve, HSI is good, combustion fan runs good, main blower runs good, filter clean (monthly),ducting and outlets clear and free of obstructions so it is not a high temperature due to low air flow problem causing intermittent problem. I tend to think there is a common problem with these units at the controlling "mother-board", which is mounted on the fan housing. would be interested if anyone out there has seen this, and has an answer. my money is tight as well and will do any work myself to fix, but curious if this is more common than i thought.
im a kiss fan too.
28balancer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 06:08 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas furnace problem


I have read on a few websites that the control board in these furnaces are known to go out, I just wish I could figure out what is wrong cause I can get a board for it but I don't have the money to just throw parts at it. I really don't want to put a 130 dollar board in it to find out it needs a 80 dollar gas valve. But hey sitting here trpubleshooting the furnace listening to the new KISS album lol
Kissfan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2012, 06:14 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Gas furnace problem


Quote:
Originally Posted by 28balancer View Post
having the same problem with my Goodman furnace,model #GMC-075-3, and so is my mother and another homeowner i know with the same units. mine was installed in 94, and has run well for years. My mothers and friends units are newer, but have also run well for years. So i believe power wiring and low voltage wiring are good and have checked that angle. Sometimes my furnace (and the others) starts fine, runs well for a time, then main burners shut down in the middle of a "call for heat", main burner still running, plenum temp ok. checked voltage to valve, HSI is good, combustion fan runs good, main blower runs good, filter clean (monthly),ducting and outlets clear and free of obstructions so it is not a high temperature due to low air flow problem causing intermittent problem. I tend to think there is a common problem with these units at the controlling "mother-board", which is mounted on the fan housing. would be interested if anyone out there has seen this, and has an answer. my money is tight as well and will do any work myself to fix, but curious if this is more common than i thought.
im a kiss fan too.
woe double supersized caps.....shut them off...lol

Advertisement

carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 08:01 PM
Help troubleshooting furnace problem robert_ HVAC 21 02-15-2012 09:04 AM
Help with furnace blower problem Spydey HVAC 6 12-15-2010 09:18 PM
Furnace Model # Feh-015-04 clicking but not turning on? haimei HVAC 1 12-14-2010 06:01 PM
Old Silver-Line furnace problem avro1 HVAC 9 03-18-2010 01:01 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts