Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-09-2012, 08:52 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 18
Share |
Default

Gas furnace problem


Ok so I attempted to turn my furnace on last night since it was going down into the 30's and when I did nothing happened. So I went into the basement and had my fiancÚ turn it back on, the small blower motor starts, then after a short time the pilot lights starts to glow( this is not a flame but just a piece of metal that glows orange like a glow plug) then when're whole thing shuts down. I know the problem is that the gas valve is not opening but how do I tell if it is the valve itself that is bad? There are two wires I believe that connect to the valve, a blue one and a purple one that connects to small circular things that surroun where the burners are. Please don't just suggest calling a tech. Money is extremely tight and I just can't afford to do so. Thanks
Kissfan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 08:55 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Default

Gas furnace problem


measure voltage at gas valve.. also insure gas is on to furnace.. should get 24 volts to gas valve....
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 09:39 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,002
Default

Gas furnace problem


there is also and on and off swicth for the gas valve on the valve it self...make sure it on...had to ask....ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 09:40 AM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 18
Default

Gas furnace problem


is the purple wire the ground? without looking at a schematic i am assuming the purple wire i see that connects those plugs ground the valve, and if the fire comes out to far it breaks one of those plugs and causes the valve to close. sorry for the terminology but i dont know what those things are called lol
Kissfan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 02:23 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,487
Default

Gas furnace problem


Look for small buttons in the middle of the small circular things(roll out switches), its a reset, try pushing them in. If one or more of them resets. then watch as the furnace runs and see if the flames change when the blower comes on. If so, you probably have a cracked heat exchanger.


PS: Stranger things have happened, so are you sure you have gas.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2012, 04:43 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 18
Default

Gas furnace problem


Yes to the gas, I am going to check the roll out switches when I get home
Kissfan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 06:06 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 18
Default

Gas furnace problem


ok, so i think i have it narrowed down to the gas valve, the board was giving me 2 or 3 error codes so i checked them and each code eventually refrences back to the gas valve. the only thing im not understanding is at no part during the startup do i measure any voltage to the gas valve. if the gas valve is indeed stuck would the furnace still send the voltage to open it?
Kissfan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 06:43 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,002
Default

Gas furnace problem


what is the make of your furnace.....does it have the honeywell smartvalve system.....after reading your last post if you don't have voltage to valve perhaps it a bad relay on board...proving to be bad control board...ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 06:59 AM   #9
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,574
Default

Gas furnace problem


if you had 24Vs at the valve then the valve is aced the board isn't sending the 24V read the board where the valve wires connect..see if you have 24v there...your not even getting pilot gas first off
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 10:19 AM   #10
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,473
Default

Gas furnace problem


If you are getting 24V to the gas valve, it should be opening.
I am not sure from your description if you actually have a pilot flame system or if its a direct ignition system for the main burners.

A photo would also confirm that we are not dealing with a smart valve?
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 11:10 AM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 18
Default

Gas furnace problem


there is no pilot light, it is a heating element that when triggered it glows orange to ignite the gas, i do not get the voltage to the gas valve so i am now begining to believe it may be the relay on the control board. when i get home tonight i am going to tap on the relay to see if maybe i can get it to close
Kissfan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 11:50 AM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Gas furnace problem


You have a hot surface igniter. It will glow and then you should hear a click from the gas valve. If there is no click the check voltage to gas valve.
Flyers28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2012, 03:14 PM   #13
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,487
Default

Gas furnace problem


Did you try resetting the roll outs.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 06:26 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 18
Default

Gas furnace problem


i did reset the rollouts, i know for a fact they are good, i never do get 24 volts to the gas valve. I can not find a wiring diagram for the control board, which i think is what is wrong with it, to find where the 24v comes from. i kow it is supposed to come out on the purple wire but thats as far as i can troubleshoot it. the furnace is a goodman, Model #GMPN120-5 Revb
Kissfan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2012, 11:02 AM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Default

Gas furnace problem


Check the 24 volt transformer inside the blower cabinet. Also check the fuse on the circuit board if it had one.
Flyers28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
Help troubleshooting furnace problem robert_ HVAC 21 02-15-2012 08:04 AM
Help with furnace blower problem Spydey HVAC 6 12-15-2010 08:18 PM
Furnace Model # Feh-015-04 clicking but not turning on? haimei HVAC 1 12-14-2010 05:01 PM
Old Silver-Line furnace problem avro1 HVAC 9 03-18-2010 12:01 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.