Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-06-2011, 08:43 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
Share |
Default

Gas Furnace Issues..No Heat, Lots of Cold


Our gas furnace recently stopped working. One day it was fine, the next it doesn't work. A little background info: Thermostat is a Maple Chase, Furnace Door says Rheem Criterion Installed 1992. I have no manuals. I did change the filter but that did nothing. If I turn the fan to On, it blows very well but only cold air. I have noticed the the pilot light seems to be out. If I flip the breaker, the furnace will come on for about 5 minutes and blow cold air then shut off. Gas water heater works fine. I am a complete novice at home repair but would like to avoid the cost of calling a pro if I can. So if anyone can help me figure this out, it would be wonderful. We're surviving with space heaters that take all day to heat the house and have doubled our heating bill.
otakumom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 08:57 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 3,994
Default

Gas Furnace Issues..No Heat, Lots of Cold


sounds like you need and ignitor.......when unit starts inducer motor runs then ignitor glows burnners light starts to heat.....
ben's plumbing is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 09:39 PM   #3
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,574
Default

Gas Furnace Issues..No Heat, Lots of Cold


you might have an spark ignition like on the stove top pop the top panel to expose the burner and controls check for a disc with 2 wires on it mounted near the burner opening(just where the flame comes out) might have a small RED button on it push to reset then toggle up the power on the furnace on the side...4" round silver control with 2 wires going to it tap it with a screw driver....then re power off the toggle switch on the side....make sure your stat is set for heat in auto....do you hear a sparking sound...small fan starts up first any action get back....asap
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
biggles is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 06:45 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Default

Gas Furnace Issues..No Heat, Lots of Cold


Quote:
I am a complete novice at home repair but would like to avoid the cost of calling a pro if I can.
I can certainly sympathize with you, but if you get in there and start poking around with 1. HIGH VOLTAGE and 2. NATURAL GAS and something goes wrong what will it cost then ?if you have even the working knowledge of a gas forced air furnace then we probably could get you through this......but admitting that you are a "complete novice" tells me that you should not attempt any repairs on such a complicated system.
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 01:53 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 374
Default

Gas Furnace Issues..No Heat, Lots of Cold


high voltage??? last time i checked, furnaces were 120V.
NitroNate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 05:48 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Default

Gas Furnace Issues..No Heat, Lots of Cold


Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroNate View Post
high voltage??? last time i checked, furnaces were 120V.
Yes nate.....120 volts is considered high voltage......low voltage is control voltage such as a 24 vac .....
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 06:26 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 374
Default

Gas Furnace Issues..No Heat, Lots of Cold


Quote:
Originally Posted by harleyrider View Post
Yes nate.....120 volts is considered high voltage......low voltage is control voltage such as a 24 vac .....
all i know is the NEC defines it as over 600 volts. i suppose it's a matter of what is dangerous to a homeowner.
NitroNate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2011, 06:38 PM   #8
HVAC Tech/ Browns Fan
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Dayton, ohio
Posts: 541
Default

Gas Furnace Issues..No Heat, Lots of Cold


Quote:
Originally Posted by NitroNate View Post
all i know is the NEC defines it as over 600 volts. i suppose it's a matter of what is dangerous to a homeowner.
I guess you use you fingers to test for voltage.
Tator1076 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replace Heat Exchanger or Furnace deccher HVAC 41 10-22-2013 08:45 PM
Heil Furnace issues KMV HVAC 5 12-09-2010 01:37 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
Help with Heat Pump System Wiring AlanScott HVAC 11 10-10-2010 12:19 PM
Gas Furnace, no heat, can smell gas in the crawlspace dr_tunes HVAC 2 12-21-2009 07:37 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.