Gas Furnace In The Attic HELP? - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-03-2012, 01:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas Furnace in the Attic HELP?


I'm a rookie here so please be nice! So, we have an attic that we are converting to a family room. The attic already has the gas furnace and has been properly zoned with vents and intake for the space. My question is do we need to insulate the entire attic space including the area where the furnace is or do we just insulate and knee-wall around the furnace area thus keeping the furnace are exposed to fresh air through the soffits?

Thanks - Jason

Advertisement


Last edited by JasonDavid; 02-03-2012 at 01:05 PM.
JasonDavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 01:04 PM   #2
Residential Designer
 
AndyGump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orange County CA.
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 552
Send a message via Skype™ to AndyGump
Default

Gas Furnace in the Attic HELP?


It would certainly be against code to have the furnace in any living area.

Is that the intention?

Andy.

Advertisement

__________________
Residential Drafter/Designer
www.draftinginoc.com
AndyGump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 01:26 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas Furnace in the Attic HELP?


In Mass its pretty common to have an attic with the furnace to support heating/cooling for the below second floor...its new home so I'm assuming everything was to code before we bought it.
JasonDavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 01:28 PM   #4
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Gas Furnace in the Attic HELP?


Not if it was there all the time. . to the OP : is your furnace an 80% or 90% model?

Last edited by hvac5646; 02-03-2012 at 01:36 PM.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 01:34 PM   #5
Residential Designer
 
AndyGump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orange County CA.
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 552
Send a message via Skype™ to AndyGump
Default

Gas Furnace in the Attic HELP?


Oh I see what you are asking now that I re-read your post. The furnace will be in the side attic area behind the knee wall. Dough!
Usually that is fine as long as you have the proper combustion air for the furnace in that area but there are a lot more things to consider than just the placement of insulation in a project like you are describing.
Proper type and placement of insulation for the rafters and knee walls, not to mention venting if required and proper sizing of lumber for the floor members now that it will be living space, etc.

Andy.
__________________
Residential Drafter/Designer
www.draftinginoc.com
AndyGump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 01:45 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas Furnace in the Attic HELP?


Hcav5646...it is an 80% model with an aluminum flue pipe through the roof.
JasonDavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 01:52 PM   #7
Part of the Clover Leaf
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: NW Burbs of Detroit Mi.
Posts: 1,107
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Gas Furnace in the Attic HELP?


Quote:
Originally Posted by JasonDavid View Post
Hcav5646...it is an 80% model with an aluminum flue pipe through the roof.
Make sure you have a dedicated combustion air source from out side. Usually a four inch 26 ga pipe will suffice.
hvac5646 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 01:55 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas Furnace in the Attic HELP?


Yes Andy, the furnace is located in a corner right under the ridge of the roof. The knee wall will be built all around the attic and around furnace itself according to code with access doors for maint. But I guess the main question I have is whether to create a little furnace room separate from the finished/Insulated space in the attic? Any thoughts?
JasonDavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 01:58 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas Furnace in the Attic HELP?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvac5646 View Post
Make sure you have a dedicated combustion air source from out side. Usually a four inch 26 ga pipe will suffice.
It may already have one but if it does not I'll have the HVAC guy come out to add it. That being said does that mean I can keep the furnace inside the insulation zone?
JasonDavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 02:00 PM   #10
Residential Designer
 
AndyGump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orange County CA.
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 552
Send a message via Skype™ to AndyGump
Default

Gas Furnace in the Attic HELP?


Sorry, I can't really give you any advice on that as I don't know the entire scope of what you are trying to accomplish. It would just not be right of me to do so.
I would need to know what codes are for your local for insulation and a lot of other things as well as what the present construction of the house is etc.

Andy.
__________________
Residential Drafter/Designer
www.draftinginoc.com
AndyGump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 02:04 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas Furnace in the Attic HELP?


Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyGump View Post
Sorry, I can't really give you any advice on that as I don't know the entire scope of what you are trying to accomplish. It would just not be right of me to do so.
I would need to know what codes are for your local for insulation and a lot of other things as well as what the present construction of the house is etc.

Andy.
Its not a problem...its a complicated thing! I'm just sad I don't live in So Cal like you.
Thanks for your reply's...much appreciated!
JasonDavid is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to JasonDavid For This Useful Post:
AndyGump (02-03-2012)
Old 02-03-2012, 02:42 PM   #12
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Gas Furnace in the Attic HELP?


just keep in mind service and access to it,but build it around as a hallway furnace with louver door might be....guy comes to service it is money and time to you battling the enclosure
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 02:54 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Gas Furnace in the Attic HELP?


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
just keep in mind service and access to it,but build it around as a hallway furnace with louver door might be....guy comes to service it is money and time to you battling the enclosure
Ya..we have having an access door to get to the space for cleaning and changing the filter and maintenance issues. Thanks
JasonDavid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 02:54 PM   #14
Residential Designer
 
AndyGump's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Orange County CA.
Posts: 1,318
Rewards Points: 552
Send a message via Skype™ to AndyGump
Default

Gas Furnace in the Attic HELP?


Good thought, needs 36" min. in front of the service door to the furnace for service access, and a light in there switchable at the room access.

Andy.
__________________
Residential Drafter/Designer
www.draftinginoc.com
AndyGump is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2012, 03:11 PM   #15
Retired from the grind
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Midwest - Central Illinois
Posts: 14,423
Rewards Points: 2,508
Default

Gas Furnace in the Attic HELP?


Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyGump View Post
It would certainly be against code to have the furnace in any living area.

Is that the intention?

Andy.
It is common here to see them in a closet in the living area.

Advertisement

__________________
Ren: Now listen, Cadet. I've got a job for you. See this button? Ren: Don't touch it! It's the History Eraser button, you fool! Stimpy: So what'll happen? Ren: That's just it. We don't know. Maybe something bad, maybe something good. I guess we'll never know, 'cause you're going to guard it. You won't touch it, will you?
gregzoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
attic , furnace , hvac , insulation


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 06:42 PM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 04:51 PM
Ventilating attic with two roofs senorbungle Building & Construction 2 01-09-2011 05:17 PM
Attic fan options P550 Roofing/Siding 1 08-22-2010 01:47 PM
Furnace install in attic - Duct configuration hartkem HVAC 6 11-08-2008 06:46 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts