Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-17-2010, 11:48 AM   #1
Dak
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Share |
Default

gas furnace


can a gas furnace put off a kerosen or sulfur smell. The exhaust outside smells like sulfur at times furnace is in its second season

Dak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-17-2010, 02:49 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,306
Default

gas furnace


Is it Propane?

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 09:32 AM   #3
Dak
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Default

gas furnace


Natural gas 95 efficient two years old also it sounds like its missing when its running. when you go out side where the exhaust and intake are.
Dak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 09:50 AM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,306
Default

gas furnace


If it is running properly there should be no smell. Only water vapor and CO2. Get it checked ASAP as it may not be burning properly and carbon etc may plug up the heat exchanger and damage the furnace.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2010, 10:16 PM   #5
Dak
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Default

gas furnace


thank you
Dak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 06:23 AM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,859
Default

gas furnace


Does it get its combustion air from inside the house, or from the outside?

Could have dirty burners.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2010, 10:41 PM   #7
Dak
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Default

gas furnace


It draws from the outside and return in the house
Dak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 04:22 AM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,859
Default

gas furnace


Quote:
Originally Posted by Dak View Post
It draws from the outside and return in the house
Do you mean you have a fresh air duct connected to your return duct.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 12:37 PM   #9
Dak
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 7
Default

gas furnace


The outside air comes in in 3" pvc pipe rigjt into the furnace and i alo have 2 exsisting cold air returns
Dak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2010, 07:02 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,859
Default

gas furnace


Ok, its a direct vent system then. So its combustion air is from the outside.

So you shouldn't be getting any fumes from the intake.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
Furnace Model # Feh-015-04 clicking but not turning on? haimei HVAC 1 12-14-2010 05:01 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.