Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-26-2010, 03:31 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Share |
Default

gas fireplace-Replace thermostat w/switch


we have a ventless gas fireplace with a thermostat. on occasion, fireplace will automatically start up (dangerous). we want to replace thermostat with on/off switch. is that possible? is it a special switch (heat resistant)?

rbm328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2010, 03:48 PM   #2
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Default

gas fireplace-Replace thermostat w/switch


any swith will work, single pole/single throw

Suggest that you mkse it like a wall mount light switch

__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 05:45 AM   #3
firestarter
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: northern ohio
Posts: 10
Default

gas fireplace-Replace thermostat w/switch


jhon wayne was a great actor but people are here for help and that phrase can be missleading.
firestarter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 07:05 AM   #4
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

gas fireplace-Replace thermostat w/switch


how so ?? I see nothing wrong with it. He's been here since 09 & your the only one to mention anything about it
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to kenmac For This Useful Post:
Anti-wingnut (11-30-2010)
Old 11-30-2010, 06:01 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Default

gas fireplace-Replace thermostat w/switch


i'm just looking for a switch i can keep in the firebox. do they make such a thing?

Last edited by rbm328; 11-30-2010 at 06:04 PM.
rbm328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 06:42 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Default

gas fireplace-Replace thermostat w/switch


If the thermostat is mounted on a wall, why not replace it with something like a Honeywell 1000 heat only thermostat? It has a built in on-off function and sometimes a regular wall type switch tends to create a great deal of resistance causing a "no heat" situation (will not light) if the fireplace only uses a millivolt type circuit.
GotHeat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 06:47 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Default

gas fireplace-Replace thermostat w/switch


If the thermostat is mounted on a wall, why not replace it with something like a Honeywell 1000 heat only thermostat? It has a built in on-off function and sometimes a regular wall type switch tends to create a great deal of resistance causing a "no heat" situation (will not light) if the fireplace only uses a millivolt type circuit.[/quote]

Thanks for the reply.
no, my problem is that there is a thermostat (w/thermocouple) attached to the fireplace gas unit and a dial is the adjustment for the temp setting. i want to remove this switch and replace it with an on/off switch so it doesn't come on automatically.
rbm328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 07:37 PM   #8
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

gas fireplace-Replace thermostat w/switch


Quote:
Originally Posted by rbm328 View Post
a dial is the adjustment for the temp setting. i want to remove this switch and replace it with an on/off switch so it doesn't come on automatically.
is this dial on the gas valve? If so you are talking about a snap action hydraulic gas valve. If this is the case. You would need to replace not only the gas valve, but potentially the pilot assembly, add a thermopile and then wire in a wall switch.

I may be off and not understanding, but from the sounds of it, this would be necessary if your gas valve has the dial on it.
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 07:46 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Default

gas fireplace-Replace thermostat w/switch


dial is on the gas valve.
my last home had gas fireplace w/pilot lite. when we wanted flames, we turned up the valve and it ignited just like a stove would.

thats what i'd like to get back to, instead of a fireplace that acts more like a furnace and automatically comes on when the temp drops. i was trying to get by, by hopefully just replacing the thermostat with an on/off switch instead of a new log set.
rbm328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 07:53 PM   #10
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,318
Blog Entries: 1
Default

gas fireplace-Replace thermostat w/switch


you are going to have a lot of time and money wrapped up in this..... also not to mention a dangerous situation if you are unfamiliar with working with gas appliances. It can be done, but I don't recommend by a DIY person. Best to get a pro involved, but by the time you do that, you may be getting into putting a different log set in.......
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 07:57 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 6
Default

gas fireplace-Replace thermostat w/switch


always looking for a less expensive alternative, but also know that sometimes its better to take the high road. guess i'll be ordering a new log set.
thanks for all your help
rbm328 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2010, 08:47 PM   #12
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Default

gas fireplace-Replace thermostat w/switch


sounds like you have a thermostat controlled set of logs. Like he said. You will have a set with pilot generator to operate off a light switch. Would cost too much to convert

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thermostat replacement goalie35 HVAC 2 11-13-2010 02:10 PM
new honeywell RTH4300 thermostat to replace older one randysd Electrical 4 09-03-2010 10:20 AM
Fireplace Smell ...help wanted ! jasonb72 General DIY Discussions 6 08-26-2010 06:02 PM
New Thermostat issues when cooling guimond777 HVAC 2 05-04-2009 10:46 AM
Possible to build direct-vent fireplace? DIYerself General DIY Discussions 3 12-22-2007 10:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.