Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-10-2009, 10:54 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

gas fireplace


Folks,
I am trying to ignite the pilot light on my gas fireplace,......can someone please tell me how to do that? thanx

zshaz4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 03:50 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 95
Default

gas fireplace


Make, model and pics would help.

log_doc_rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 12:59 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seymour, TN
Posts: 41
Default

gas fireplace


They should basically be all the same. Turn the kjnob that has off/pilot/on till the word pilot lines up with the arrow or dot or whatever. Push the knob in and hit the ignitor until the pilot lights. Hold the main knob in and give the thermocouple time to heat up and slowly release it. If the flame goes out, relight it and hold it longer. Once the pilot will stay lit when you let it out turn the knob to the on position and use the switch to light the fireplace. If the pilot won't stay lit after a minute of holding the knob in, the thermocouple is probably shot.

Chris
ausblake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 01:11 PM   #4
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,467
Default

gas fireplace


If there is a gas valve then what ausblake said would be fine.

But not all gas fire places are the same

If all you have is a turn key then you will have to lite it yourself by placing a flace near the burner and slowly turning on the turn key
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 01:15 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 95
Default

gas fireplace


Some gas fireplaces have electronic ignition, some vented gas logs do not have an ignitor. Also, there are many conditions that can cause a pilot not to light. Yes, a thermocouple can be bad, but I find that to be the problem in less than 0.25% of pilot problem service calls.
log_doc_rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 01:30 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,010
Default

gas fireplace


You should visit the "Great White North" when it is -30F. Cold chimneys/no updraft/downdrafts/ negative pressures etc make fireplaces a major pain in the azz.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 02:01 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 95
Default

gas fireplace


There was a job available at the Kingsman gas fireplace manufacturer in Winnipeg. When I found out they have temps -40, I politely passed. I'll take my "cold" Winters at 25 degrees thank you. We do have a little problem with negative pressures here, but not that much.
log_doc_rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 02:05 PM   #8
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,010
Default

gas fireplace


It's a dry cold and we have LOTS of sunshine (unlike Vancouver ha ha). No mosquitoes, just a few roaming Polar bears.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 03:34 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seymour, TN
Posts: 41
Default

gas fireplace


Bad thermocouples are probably 75% of my service calls.
ausblake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 05:50 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Default

gas fireplace


Thank you very much Chris (ausblake), it worked. I am enjoying the fireplace. Bless you.
zshaz4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2009, 06:49 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seymour, TN
Posts: 41
Default

gas fireplace


Quote:
Originally Posted by zshaz4 View Post
Thank you very much Chris (ausblake), it worked. I am enjoying the fireplace. Bless you.
You are very welcome. I am glad that it worked.
ausblake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2009, 05:19 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 95
Default

gas fireplace


What type of gas fireplaces do you work on ausblake that requires TC replacement? Is it mainly LP units? I'm curious.
log_doc_rob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2009, 12:04 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seymour, TN
Posts: 41
Default

gas fireplace


Quote:
Originally Posted by log_doc_rob View Post
What type of gas fireplaces do you work on ausblake that requires TC replacement? Is it mainly LP units? I'm curious.
Natural and LP units. LP seems to do it more often. I sub contract for a Fireside Hearth and Home location and they are an owned distribution for Heat N Glo, Heatilator, and Quadrafire. I have replaced thermos that have been on 2 years and 7 years. It is strange.
ausblake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 09:09 PM   #14
Member
 
MikeKy55's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 321
Default

gas fireplace


Quote:
Originally Posted by ausblake View Post
They should basically be all the same. Turn the kjnob that has off/pilot/on till the word pilot lines up with the arrow or dot or whatever. Push the knob in and hit the ignitor until the pilot lights. Hold the main knob in and give the thermocouple time to heat up and slowly release it. If the flame goes out, relight it and hold it longer. Once the pilot will stay lit when you let it out turn the knob to the on position and use the switch to light the fireplace. If the pilot won't stay lit after a minute of holding the knob in, the thermocouple is probably shot.

Chris
Thank you Chris! I tried mine right after I moved in 2 months ago and couldn't get it to light. Of course I didn't know what you knew. Now it works like a charm. This is a great site.
MikeKy55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2009, 09:33 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Seymour, TN
Posts: 41
Default

gas fireplace


You are welcome.

ausblake is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New project: removal of old fireplace-replace with a new fireplace! MrShadetree0222 Building & Construction 14 10-16-2008 06:12 PM
convert wood fireplace to gas fireplace brisk Building & Construction 3 06-19-2008 08:17 AM
temper glass for fireplace mantel shelf sil Interior Decorating 3 02-13-2008 08:10 PM
Possible to build direct-vent fireplace? DIYerself General DIY Discussions 3 12-22-2007 10:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.