Furnaces Kill Me - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-16-2008, 10:25 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

furnaces kill me


i have a sushi store, and all the units work well except heating system,
it's a york comercial furnace on my roof top. the problem is it can't work proper, when i closed the braker, it only worked for 2mins then shut-off.
the service man said it's "flame sensor does not work" is that right????

another bad news: my house furnace didn't work either.
it's carrier high efficiency furnace,like 9 year old. it's same problem just like my comercial one. is this flame sensor problem as that one? i notice the LED flash 33 , means flame roll-out switch or fuse, so i used multimeter measure resistance between two metal legs was 0.08 ohm
did this mean bad fuse????? if not , the problem must on the flame roll-out switch.......

Oh God, furnaces kill me.......

Advertisement

furnacekillsme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 10:30 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnaces kill me


oh, there is one more thing, my thermostat went out with furnace as same time.
i push every botton on thermostat,but i didn't see any reaction on it

Advertisement

furnacekillsme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 10:43 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500
Default

furnaces kill me


flame sensors in most cases can be cleaned not sure about commercial york but carrier uses the same type on their roof tops as they do in there home type(up to a certain size) the roll out switch unfortunitly probably means you need a heatexchanger but there could be other reasons why it tripped however when the flame rollout opens it means it could be a serious problem(carbon monoxide) and should be looked at professionally the good news is the heat exchanger is under warranty for either 20 years or lifetime but expect to pay 700-1000 for labor

the flame rollout is probably what made thermostat go blank as it kills the 24v to the stat
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2008, 11:58 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnaces kill me


Quote:
Originally Posted by kennzz05 View Post
flame sensors in most cases can be cleaned not sure about commercial york but carrier uses the same type on their roof tops as they do in there home type(up to a certain size) the roll out switch unfortunitly probably means you need a heatexchanger but there could be other reasons why it tripped however when the flame rollout opens it means it could be a serious problem(carbon monoxide) and should be looked at professionally the good news is the heat exchanger is under warranty for either 20 years or lifetime but expect to pay 700-1000 for labor

the flame rollout is probably what made thermostat go blank as it kills the 24v to the stat

thanks, i use multimeter to measure "COMMON 24v" but meter displayed 0

it's like what you say flame rollout kills 24Vs......

so, what i need do? try to push botton of FLAME ROLL-OUT switch?

cuz my house is getting cold , i really worry about my kids get sick.....
furnacekillsme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 10:01 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,186
Rewards Points: 500
Default

furnaces kill me


Quote:
Originally Posted by furnacekillsme View Post
thanks, i use multimeter to measure
cuz my house is getting cold , i really worry about my kids get sick.....
Urban legend. Cold weather doesn't make for sick kids. It does make them tougher though and they will appreciate heat once it is back on.

You can either service the flame sensor which can have a build up of carbon on it and use some fine sandpaper to clean it up or you can replace it.

This is where I would start.
__________________
My idea of a perfect day: No where to go and all day to get there.
Marvin Gardens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 12:07 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500
Default

furnaces kill me


marvin, the flame sensor prob is at the business the flame rollout tripped at his home
since im not comfortable adviseing him to reset it especiallywith kids i would advise calling in a professional
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 12:40 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,186
Rewards Points: 500
Default

furnaces kill me


Quote:
Originally Posted by kennzz05 View Post
marvin, the flame sensor prob is at the business the flame rollout tripped at his home
since im not comfortable adviseing him to reset it especiallywith kids i would advise calling in a professional
I agree. I must have missed that point.

But I was right about the kids getting colds.
__________________
My idea of a perfect day: No where to go and all day to get there.
Marvin Gardens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 05:10 PM   #8
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

furnaces kill me


Am I trippin. or do you guys hear an Oriental accent too.

Reminds me of a Popeye cartoon,,,
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 05:21 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500
Default

furnaces kill me


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Am I trippin. or do you guys hear an Oriental accent too.

Reminds me of a Popeye cartoon,,,
yea i certainly do and was while reading it but i couldnt say anything
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 05:52 PM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,541
Rewards Points: 4,720
Default

furnaces kill me


Quote:
Originally Posted by Marvin Gardens View Post

But I was right about the kids getting colds.
Yes you are.
I have no idea where that wives tale came from.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 06:27 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,186
Rewards Points: 500
Default

furnaces kill me


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Yes you are.
I have no idea where that wives tale came from.
They relate the flu and colds with cold weather. When in reality the flu and colds is just more prominent in the winter because houses are closed up with people staying inside.

Staying inside is the wrong thing to do.

But you can't change people's minds so I usually don't try.
__________________
My idea of a perfect day: No where to go and all day to get there.
Marvin Gardens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 07:56 PM   #12
Member
 
dgbehrends's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Rochester, MN
Posts: 174
Rewards Points: 150
Send a message via Yahoo to dgbehrends
Default

furnaces kill me


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Yes you are.
I have no idea where that wives tale came from.
I either heard from someone or read somewhere that its not the temperature that makes you sick, but the change in temperature that makes you more vulnerable to become sick.
__________________
D in MN
dgbehrends is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2008, 11:12 PM   #13
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

furnaces kill me


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Am I trippin. or do you guys hear an Oriental accent too.

Reminds me of a Popeye cartoon,,,



By hvaclover

Advertisement

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using tempo to kill spiders 4just1don Pest Control 12 09-24-2008 04:12 PM
How to kill a runaway plant or weed? bofusmosby Landscaping & Lawn Care 2 09-10-2008 06:31 PM
Furnace's blower is on all the time but gas burner does not start artgue HVAC 3 01-16-2008 06:46 PM
2 furnaces 1 thermostat clarnp49 HVAC 3 12-05-2007 09:12 PM
Payne Furnaces mick6311 HVAC 1 06-26-2007 10:10 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts