DIY Home Improvement Forum banner

Furnace would not ignite!

2K views 6 replies 5 participants last post by  how 
#1 ·
Hi,

I have a Diplomat 80MGF3 furnace that stopped working. The induced draft would start working and after waiting awhile the blower would start working, without ignition. I get a 3 flashes code from the led, meaning pressure switch failed to close. I have tested the power to the switch in and out, and i am getting +/_ 25.6V. I have checked if there is power to the valve and i am not getting anything. Please give me some guidance!

#2 ·
The pressure switch failing to close can be due to many things, some simple and some very dangerous.

Basically the switch monitors pressure(s) (either negative or positive or both) that the venter motor developes when it runs. If a problem causes the pressure(s) to be outside of the manufacturer's specifications the switch will not allow the burner to light. This is a MAJOR safety item on all HE furnaces and is there to protect both the people in the house and the furnace itself.

Other than suggesting that you check the end of the exhaust vent from the furnace (outside of the home) for any kind of obstruction, there is honestly nothing you can do to diagnose what the problem is without the specific testing equipment required to make the measurements needed to figure out the problem. This is not one of those "change parts until it works" kind of problems.

#4 ·
I am not an expert but i believe that the pressure switch works. I have tested the switch with a voltmeter with and without the tube and when the tube is on it shows about 25v. with no tube i do not get any reading. There must be something else wrong. Igniter, valve, or control panel. If you have any suggestions, that would help!

#5 ·
Should be with tube on and fan running 0V
without tube and fan running +/-24Vac

#7 · (Edited)