Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-20-2012, 09:24 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

Furnace works, but blower stopped


I have a Heil Model #NTC6100KFG1 furnace, as shown here:

http://parts.sears.com/partsdirect/p...&prst=&shdMod=

Yesterday, I noticed that the house was cooler than usual, and the blower is not turning on. The furnace itself still has power and turns on (it still gets hot), but the blower does not. The whole house humidifier attached to the furnace still has power and works properly. My thermostat is still set to “Heat” and the fan setting is still set to “Auto”, as it always is. Temporarily setting the fan switch to “On” did not change anything.

How do I go about troubleshooting this? I assume I need to check the blower itself to ensure that it can spin. Are there other sensors or wires that I should be checking for voltage or continuity?

Thanks for any help,
Ed

ed3120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 10:05 AM   #2
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furnace works, but blower stopped


Do you have a meter and are you comfortable working inside the control panel of the furnace?

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 10:07 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furnace works, but blower stopped


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
Do you have a meter and are you comfortable working inside the control panel of the furnace?
Unfortunately, that did nothing.
ed3120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 10:12 AM   #4
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furnace works, but blower stopped


??
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 10:14 AM   #5
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furnace works, but blower stopped


Don't leave furnace on. If the blower motor is not running the high limit switch can damage. On the thermostat select Fan on and check if the blower motor will work.

Sent from my iPhone using DIY Forum
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 10:14 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 26,348
Rewards Points: 16
Default

Furnace works, but blower stopped


What did nothing?
What have you checked as far as incoming power goes?
Tested the capisitor?
http://www.ehow.com/how_2072923_test-capacitor.html
joecaption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 10:14 AM   #7
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furnace works, but blower stopped


That furnace has a timer which control the blower function. Can you verify that it is putting out voltage to the blower when the furnace has called for heat? There are also limit switches to consider. Can you troubleshoot this furnace?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 01:06 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furnace works, but blower stopped


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
??
Sorry, I got mixed up there.

I have a voltage meter and I know how to use it. I haven't checked anything with it yet.
ed3120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 01:25 PM   #9
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furnace works, but blower stopped


I would test the blower motor if you can. Disconnect it from the board and supply power to it. If you wind up needing a board it will be $100 plus.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 07:00 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furnace works, but blower stopped


The blower runs when I plug it into AC. I checked for AC voltage on the circuit board where the blower is plugged in. I get nothing. I'm guessing the board need to be replaced.
ed3120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 07:05 PM   #11
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furnace works, but blower stopped


Maybe. Make sure there isn't a limit switch locking out the board. You say the furnace does fire though, correct? What about the switch on the blower door...did you override that when checking the board for voltage? The door off will shut down the unit.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?

Last edited by Missouri Bound; 12-20-2012 at 07:10 PM.
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 07:53 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,329
Rewards Points: 8
Default

Furnace works, but blower stopped


when you say you get no voltage to motor leads on board...is the relay even pulling in ..or not ....sounds like board..ben sr
ben's plumbing is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
Missouri Bound (12-20-2012)
Old 12-20-2012, 09:50 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furnace works, but blower stopped


Quote:
Originally Posted by Missouri Bound View Post
Maybe. Make sure there isn't a limit switch locking out the board. You say the furnace does fire though, correct? What about the switch on the blower door...did you override that when checking the board for voltage? The door off will shut down the unit.
Yes, the furnace does fire. Yes, I need to hold in the door switch to make it fire. Without the door switch held, nothing works. With the door switch held, the furnace ignites, but the blower still doesn't go on. Even after waiting a few minutes (factoring in the delay).
ed3120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2012, 09:50 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 36
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furnace works, but blower stopped


Quote:
Originally Posted by ben's plumbing View Post
when you say you get no voltage to motor leads on board...is the relay even pulling in ..or not ....sounds like board..ben sr
I heard a click at one point, but I'm not really sure.
ed3120 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2012, 08:58 AM   #15
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furnace works, but blower stopped


I'm leaning towards the control board. If you need help finding one, just ask.

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Blower on Tempstar Furnace Barely Blowing Air psilva8 HVAC 7 12-07-2012 04:18 PM
furnace blower won't come on gulleyj HVAC 15 11-11-2012 03:16 PM
Gas furnace blower AC retrofit problem agibby5 HVAC 0 07-09-2012 06:58 PM
Carrier Furnace code 33 @ startup blower fan sounds like jet Frank Ottawa HVAC 6 04-19-2011 07:12 AM
Luxaire furnace blower will not shut off danaugstin HVAC 1 10-06-2009 09:14 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.