Furnace Is Working But No Heat - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-10-2010, 05:20 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Unhappy

Furnace is working but no heat


Well with the cold weather almost here I thought to make sure the heat and everything is working.This is the model # I have DGAA077BDTA.It says "Red T Products" on the cover that gos on the front and says "Central Furnace" on a sticker inside.

This is what I have going on.When I turn the T stat on everything works like it should.Electric igniter/pilot comes on then the burner fires up for 15 secs and then the fan comes on.For some odd reason its blowing cool air .Theres a site hole/small glass to look through and it doesn't seem like the burner is hot enough but I could be wrong.I can put my hand on the tube where the burner is (the tube the hot air is sucked from to go to the vents) and its cool also.Im about to pull my camcorder out and take a video so I can post it,im not good at explaining things so the video should tell ya whats going on.Ive been working on cars,trucks ect.. for 18 years so im very good with tools (fixed my watter heater about 2 months ago ),so if someone can walk me through this,that would be awesome .Im on DSL so once I take the video,i'll upload it to youtube and post it when I get up in about 7 hrs..Thanks for any help I can get on this..

Advertisement

Lon1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 07:02 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Furnace is working but no heat


Not enough gas. I have seen your issue more then a few times and the cause almost always spider egg sacks blocking the burner orifice or screen in the gas valve.

Advertisement

Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 04:51 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace is working but no heat


Hay,thanks so much for the reply marty .So which part is the gas valve?Im guessing its the block that the main gas line runs to or no?Heres the video I took last night .Sounds like your right because it seems its not getting enough gas to the burner and everything worked perfect last year...
Lon1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 05:35 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Furnace is working but no heat


I'm on dial up so your 6 minute video would take hours to see. Tried watching it and 15 minutes later I was 7 seconds in LOL. Post a picture and I'll point out the parts to check.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 06:19 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,554
Rewards Points: 4,746
Default

Furnace is working but no heat


You got a spider's web or egg sack in the burner.

turn the gas off, and pull the burner. Remove orifice and clean out obstruction.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 08:10 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace is working but no heat


Quote:
Marty
I'm on dial up so your 6 minute video would take hours to see. Tried watching it and 15 minutes later I was 7 seconds in LOL. Post a picture and I'll point out the parts to check.
Ok,i'll get a few pics posted in a bit.

Quote:
beenthere
You got a spider's web or egg sack in the burner.

turn the gas off, and pull the burner. Remove orifice and clean out obstruction.
Cool and i'll for sure do that in a bit.I'll do this tonight and post pics so Marty can let me know what part hes talking about.Its a good thing I checked this now and not when the snow hits haha.

I asked this when I fixed my watter heater so i'll ask you guys about the furnace.Is pipe tape good to use when I hook the gas back up or should I get the liquid pipe sealer?I used the tape on my watter heater,checked with soapy watter and its all good..
Lon1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 08:59 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,124
Rewards Points: 886
Default

Furnace is working but no heat


Does your water heater have a good strong flame? I assume you are using natural gas and not Propane. If the water heater is weak then your main gas meter and or regulator from the utility may be failing. Call them and have them check it properly. If it is propane then your regulator may be failing or tank low. The tape is called teflon tape and I recommend the thicker pink version rather than the light duty white stuff. Probably available at HDepot. Some gas inspectors and jurisdictions frown on it and won't approve it. We don't use it here anymore. Pipe dope with a teflon base that is AGA /CGA and UL approved is a sure bet. Not sure if insurance companies like teflon tape either. Don't run the furnace like that or that dirty flame may produce carbon and plug it up. Looks very white and bad to me. Very unstable and that can drop out/restart with delayed ignition and be dangerous.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 09-10-2010 at 09:32 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2010, 11:35 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace is working but no heat


Marty,heres a pic.

Lon1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 12:44 AM   #9
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Furnace is working but no heat


Mobil home furnace. You only have one burner.

Pull the burner and DO NOT I repeat DO NOT ATTEMPT TO REMOVE THE ORIFICE!

You can clean the orifice in place. Use a tooth pick. The orifice should be connected to the gas valve. You might also use a shop vak to suck out the debris you loosen up with the tooth pick. Trying to take the orifice off to clean it may cause the orifice to to crack or deform (this happen to me one time but never again). They don't use the best materials in mobile home furnaces regretfully.

I think your flame is not establishing. Clean the sensor while you have the burner out.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 09-11-2010 at 12:55 AM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 01:12 AM   #10
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Furnace is working but no heat


It's been a while since I worked on 1 of those...The best I can remember ,they fire on low fire . then within a few seconds it should come up to high fire.. Maybe the valve isn't going to high fire
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 03:29 AM   #11
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Furnace is working but no heat


Quote:
Originally Posted by kenmac View Post
It's been a while since I worked on 1 of those...The best I can remember ,they fire on low fire . then within a few seconds it should come up to high fire.. Maybe the valve isn't going to high fire
Hey ken ....marty and dial up service.
~snicker~ dial up service
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.

Last edited by hvaclover; 09-11-2010 at 03:33 AM.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 04:33 AM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,554
Rewards Points: 4,746
Default

Furnace is working but no heat


The yellow teflon tape is approved for use on gas pipes.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 06:11 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace is working but no heat


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
The yellow teflon tape is approved for use on gas pipes.
Yeah,i'll go get some tomorrow .I haven't messed with it yet because I rather get the right tape.


Quote:
hvaclover
Mobil home furnace. You only have one burner.

Pull the burner and DO NOT I repeat DO NOT ATTEMPT TO REMOVE THE ORIFICE!

You can clean the orifice in place. Use a tooth pick. The orifice should be connected to the gas valve. You might also use a shop vak to suck out the debris you loosen up with the tooth pick. Trying to take the orifice off to clean it may cause the orifice to to crack or deform (this happen to me one time but never again). They don't use the best materials in mobile home furnaces regretfully.

I think your flame is not establishing. Clean the sensor while you have the burner out.
I'll do all that tomorow for sure.I did see a spider when I looked through the site hole today .

Thanks for all the advice guys and i'll report back asap tomorrow ..
Lon1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 09:27 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Furnace is working but no heat


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
Hey ken ....marty and dial up service.
~snicker~ dial up service
Hey now don't be making fun of a feller for being cheap. Already had to get basic cable so the wife would stop whining about only getting one tv station and now I'm supposed the splurge on high speed internet? Next thing you'll want me to be buying a phone that does more then make calls!
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 09:42 AM   #15
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,124
Rewards Points: 886
Default

Furnace is working but no heat


Cancel the cable and buy her a few pair of these. One for each channel.
Attached Thumbnails
Furnace is working but no heat-rabbit-ears.jpg  

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ducane Furnace - no heat dave_in_waterloo HVAC 4 09-19-2012 10:41 PM
Heat pump or high efficiency furnace moisheh HVAC 13 11-14-2010 12:59 PM
Furnace room is warm, wasting heat Richo HVAC 13 02-18-2009 01:57 PM
first time startup on Bryant furnace - furnace calls for heat and will not stop luvheat HVAC 22 02-14-2009 09:56 AM
CARRIER 58RAV Furnace Blows Cold Air-No Heat sarosie HVAC 2 12-05-2007 01:00 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts