Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-09-2008, 03:39 PM   #1
Handyman
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Oakville, Ont, Canada
Posts: 796
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

furnace won't work


Hi folks,

Hmm...my furnace won't go on, not even the fan. The programmable thermostat has low batteries. Would that cause a problem? There are only 2 wires going to it from the furnace (red and white) connected to RH and W respectively. Should I see any DC voltage on those wires?

CC

canadaclub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2008, 03:54 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace won't work


24V on those 2 wires at the subbase.to run heat...unscrew one and connect it to the other terminal,check the emergency switch and the CB panel..all ON.....you should have the burner ON.can you read voltage check the transformer secondary right off the color wires(yellow/blue)black/white is primary into it 115V

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2008, 01:40 PM   #3
HVAC Tech. - Family Owner
 
HVACguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace won't work


As Biggles Said - I Would Jump Out Your R & W Terminal - This Will Bypass Your t-stat. If You Only Have 2 Wires To Your Thermostat There Is No "Fan On" Option, Unless Bypassed On The Circuit Board.
HVACguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
furnace cycles, runs for 45-60 seconds shuts down and recycles again ronsmoneypit HVAC 4 02-03-2008 01:46 PM
Gas Furnace - Burning smell at return blakemcginnis HVAC 4 01-26-2008 08:29 AM
Gas furnace just barely does not work. Halcyon HVAC 9 12-27-2007 11:28 PM
Heil furnace Won't work. mgbarber44 HVAC 2 11-25-2007 02:34 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.