Furnace Won't Turn On - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum

Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 02-05-2009, 09:02 PM   #1

Rewards Points: 10

furnace won't turn on

Hi, I have a Carrier Weathermaster 2000 Mod# 58TUA08014 Ser# 3496A08764. It runs fine for awhile but occasionally won't start until I go downstairs and turn the power switch on the side of the furnace off and back on. The problem now is becoming more frequent. It seems to do it most often when the thermostat has cycled cooler all night so the furnace has been off for awhile. I have taken the covers off and checked for loose wiring, etc. and cleaned everything including all electrical contacts. Yesterday I did notice one transformer on the bottom felt hot before I restarted it manually again this morning. Today I checked it while the furnace was operating fine and the same transformer was cool. The transformer is not named on the wiring diagram but is on the right side and has a black & white wire going to it on top and blue & red going to it on the bottom. Any advice? Thanks! Bill Hoidas

Advertisement

energybill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2009, 09:31 PM   #2

Rewards Points: 2,000

furnace won't turn on