Furnace Wont Stay Lit - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2010, 10:23 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Washington State
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace wont stay lit


I've got a Goodman GMP075-3 model (I know, I've already read all the groans about the model so spare me the empathy lol). When we first turn it on, all is well, but the three flames will suddenly go out after about 5 minutes of running. All the blowers continue to blow but no flame. If it sits, shut off at the breaker for awhile, it will produce heat again but only for the five minutes or so and the same thing happens.

A few months ago the same thing would sorta happen but the flames would come on intermitently for awhile but then it just started working as it should. Now I get the problem described above.

I'm not an HVAC guy by any stretch but I'm mechanically inclined enough to try some quick fixes or even narrowing down my options so the guys in the know won't take me for a ride if I need to call on them.

Any ideas?

Advertisement

86Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 10:34 PM   #2
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Furnace wont stay lit


Check the led on the board in the blower area to see the code. It sounds like a hi limit is opening. Check the air filter and make sure it is clean.

Advertisement

JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 10:42 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Washington State
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace wont stay lit


The air filter is sparkling clean.

The board is giving me one continuous blink. In other words ... blink ... blink ... blink. I take it that's not normal?
86Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 10:48 PM   #4
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Furnace wont stay lit


The both blowers running. I assume draft induser and main is usually a sign of a open limit. Main limit or burner roll out. Is the steady flash on the light durring the time both fans are operating and the furnace is down?
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 10:57 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Washington State
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace wont stay lit


By 'furnace down' I assume you mean when no flame is showing. If that's correct, yes, the light is blinking while the fans are blowing but no flame.
86Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 11:06 PM   #6
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Furnace wont stay lit


Strange. Not having a failure code. I would still think it may be a limit but would also suspect the board as also having a problem.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 11:09 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Washington State
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace wont stay lit


So the steady blink of the LED light is normal? Usually a solid light means normal and if it's blinking, the number of blinks tells you what's wrong.
86Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 11:13 PM   #8
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Furnace wont stay lit


If I rember correctly a steady blink is a normal call for heat. For example 3 blinks with a pause the 3 blinks and so on shows there is a fault. Normally on the back of the blower door is the list of what the lights mean.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 11:16 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Washington State
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace wont stay lit


How I could miss that?! The panel says:

1 Blink =

Problem:
Ignition Failure

Check:
Gas Flow
Gas Pressure
Gas Valve
Flame Sensor
86Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 11:19 PM   #10
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Furnace wont stay lit


Clean the flame senser it is the most common problem. Look for a single wire under the burners this will lead to the senser. it is normally on the left side.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2010, 11:30 PM   #11
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Washington State
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace wont stay lit


A or B?

and what do I clean it with?
Attached Thumbnails
Furnace wont stay lit-furnace.jpg  
86Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 11:34 AM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Furnace wont stay lit


Clean A, do not touch B. Use steel wool or a scotch brite pad or sand cloth in a pinch.
SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2010, 11:47 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Washington State
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace wont stay lit


Will do. Thanks for the help both of you!

Advertisement

86Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ducane Gas Furnace fails to stay on franko HVAC 25 12-08-2011 05:14 PM
Propane furnace pilot wont stay lit davewest HVAC 0 11-21-2009 01:19 AM
bryant gas furnace burner wont stay on. pipebender HVAC 29 11-08-2009 08:41 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts