Furnace Wont Stay Lit - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-06-2012, 10:57 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace wont stay lit


it started out as it would have a hard time lighting it would take 3 or 4 cycles then it went to lighting for a few seconds then turning off the burners and go into watchguard mode. so i cleaned the flame sensor this seemed to fix it for a few heating cycles. i then replaced the flame sensor, now i get nothing not even opening the gas valve. so i switched back to the old sensor and it tries to light but wont stay lit. so i checked the pressure switch it is working i cleaned the hose and the condensation tube. now here is where i get confused, with the old flame sensor in i can jump the gas valve manually when the ignitor is at full temp and get it to light and stay lit with the jump, if i leave the jump on for 3 or 4 min. then remove it the furnace will stay lit in normal operation. if i shut it down and re start a few min later it will run normal operation, but if i leave it for 20 min. i will revert back to the symtoms above. with the new sensor in i cannot jump the gas valve and keep the fans on they shut off and the leds tell me the board is wired wrong. help please.

Advertisement

goatboy0067 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 12:15 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Vincennes, IN
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace wont stay lit


Sounds to me as if it might be the gas valve. What is the model and serial number and make of the unit?

Advertisement

jnc401 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 01:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

furnace wont stay lit


Burners,crossovers and grounds clean?
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 01:53 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace wont stay lit


i will be cleaning the burners shortly and i checked and cleaned all the grounds
goatboy0067 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2012, 09:21 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace wont stay lit


Check the gas valve connections are making good contact.
Make sure you have voltage at the gas valve and it is constant not intermittent when you are calling for heat.
If the voltage is constant and the burners do not stay lit it sounds like the coil in the gas valve is weak and the valve will need replaced.

If you have anymore information it could help out.

Hope I was able to help you.
oncall is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A couple furnace gas pipe questions, and an entire plan to replace my gas valve richapple HVAC 13 12-05-2012 12:33 PM
Goodman Furnace wont stay running handleonit HVAC 5 11-27-2012 10:53 AM
furnace wont stay on subcool HVAC 26 11-19-2012 08:52 PM
Gas Furnace will not stay lit... sobro HVAC 3 10-12-2010 10:22 AM
Furnace Wont Stay On mccheese82 HVAC 6 12-16-2007 01:11 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts