Furnace Won't Start In The Morning - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2009, 05:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Won't Start In The Morning


I set my thermostat down during the overnight hours and hear it kicking in occassionally but then when it's supposed to kick in for the morning "waking up" hours, it doesn't and then the temp in the house starts dropping. If I turn the power switch (next to the furnace) off and then back on, it starts up and if fine for the day.

Why won't it kick start in the mornings when it's time to heat up the house?

Advertisement

chiimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 06:14 PM   #2
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,112
Rewards Points: 862
Default

Furnace Won't Start In The Morning


post the make, model #, serial # and age and type Ie: gas, oil, hot water boiler for more help.

Advertisement

yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 06:21 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Won't Start In The Morning


It's a Bryant Gas furnace...I don't see a serial or model number anywhere...about nine years old.
chiimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 06:52 PM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,112
Rewards Points: 862
Default

Furnace Won't Start In The Morning


Open the front door by the burners and look on the left side for a sticker. Does it have a metal pipe going to a chimney or plastic venting pipes?
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 09:31 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Won't Start In The Morning


Model:
383KAV048111

Metal pipe going to a chimney.

I had read that cleaning the sensor might be a cure...does that sound right? I read that I should use a fine sand paper (emory board work?) or steel wool. It looks like it would be hard to reach (It's that little metal rod sticking in there, yes?) if I couldn't use an emory board unless I take it out--which I'm not sure how to do.

Or does that sound like a wrong solution?
chiimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 09:44 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,112
Rewards Points: 862
Default

Furnace Won't Start In The Morning


If there is a viewing window on the bottom door with a flashing LED count the number of flashes before resetting the power next time. On the back of that door is a legend with the codes. Make sure you pay attention as the short flashes are not much different than the long ones and you can mix up the reading. You can clean it with steel wool after removing it. It sits in front of the left burner and has ONE wire going to it and looks like this one:
Attached Images
 

Last edited by yuri; 01-21-2009 at 09:47 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 10:09 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Won't Start In The Morning


By reading the LED lights and looking at the legend, I'll get a clue to what's wrong?

Is the sensor just secured with one set screw?
chiimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 11:29 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Furnace Won't Start In The Morning


yes and yes 1/4 in screw
kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 06:57 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Won't Start In The Morning


I'll try cleaning off the sensor...this morning it didn't come on again and (because I woke up earlier than normal) I flicked the switch off and one before remembering to look at the LED's! I guess I'll have to wait until tomorrow morning. Once it comes on in the morning it's good for the rest of the day. Why would that be? Is it the lower overnight temperature that screws it up?
chiimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 09:53 AM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Won't Start In The Morning


I took out the sensor and cleaned it with steel wool this morning. It didn't look dirty, but who knows, maybe that was all it was. I won't know until tomorrow morning when the heater kicks back in after the lower overnight temperature. It only happens when it cycles from the overnight lower setting to the higher morning setting. If the sensor isn't the problem, could it be the thermostat? A glitch in programming? It used to only have this issue once a week at most, but has been not kicking in every day this week, so is getting worse.
chiimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 09:57 AM   #11
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,112
Rewards Points: 862
Default

Furnace Won't Start In The Morning


Lots of problems with circuit boards and pressure switches for that furnace. I have worked on hundreds of them. Get the code. The pressure switch is inexpensive, the board not cheap.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2009, 02:19 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Won't Start In The Morning


Sounds good...If it happens again tomorrow morning, I'll get the code. I really appreciate your help. I just started my own business about 1.5 years ago and am on a tight budget, so anything I'm able to do myself is greatly appreciated. I'll see what it does in the morning. Thanks.
chiimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 10:39 AM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 8
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Won't Start In The Morning


After cleaning the sensor yesterday, the furnace kicked in as it was supposed to this morning. I'll see if it continues, otherwise, if it does fail again, I'll get the codes and see what they mean.
chiimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 11:04 PM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Won't Start In The Morning


My furnance is having the same problem.

I set my thermostat down during the overnight hours and hear it kicking in occassionally but then when it's supposed to kick in for the morning "waking up" hours, it doesn't and then the temp in the house starts dropping. If I turn the power switch (next to the furnace) off and then back on, it starts up and if fine for the day.


The furnance is Day & Night with a model# 376CAV03675. However, I couldn't locate a senser like that. Any suggestions are greatly appreciated.

Advertisement

JasonY is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil furnace won't start - just a click and a hum MrGookat HVAC 4 01-06-2009 08:53 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM
Goodman furnace: won't start Guyver03 HVAC 2 10-23-2006 03:25 PM
Furnace does't start when Fan is 'auto' stepicz HVAC 2 10-18-2005 07:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts