Furnace Won't Run - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-02-2011, 06:11 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace won't run


my rheem 90 plus furnace will not start the combustion blower will not start and yes i do have power the two green lights are lit

Advertisement

fisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 06:19 PM   #2
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

furnace won't run


two green lights on the board meaning normal operation on call for heat?

Advertisement

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 06:28 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace won't run


but the furnace will not run
fisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 06:30 PM   #4
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

furnace won't run


There are two electrical sides to all things air conditioning, your regular high voltage which is what produces the power for compressors and motors to do their work, and low control voltage. The latter tells the prior where to go and when, what work to do.

Question is, do you have low voltage.?
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 06:33 PM   #5
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

furnace won't run


You need a meter and some small wires or jumper gator clips. We can try bypassing a few things such as the stat and control board to see if heat comes on.

Does your a/c work? How about the fan only?
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 06:34 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace won't run


yes I have low voltage
fisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 06:35 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace won't run


a/c works and blower works combustion blower will not start up
fisk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 06:43 PM   #8
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

furnace won't run


Quote:
Originally Posted by fisk View Post
a/c works and blower works combustion blower will not start up
By combustion motor you must mean draft inducer motor. Nope, without that motor working you will not have heat as that is the first piece to come on in call for heat. We need to know if you have voltage to that motor. If yes but does not come on than it very well may be bad.

Sometimes they simply sieze up. Try spinning it by hand and see. If it gives resistance, tell tale sign it's out. Sometimes they work for a while longer if you can free it up.
Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 09:44 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

furnace won't run


Check if there's a critter stuck in the inducer.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 09:48 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace won't run


My info was wrong. Sorry.

Last edited by SS laser; 10-03-2011 at 08:41 PM. Reason: I suck.
SS laser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 11:21 PM   #11
I'm Your Huckleberry
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,884
Rewards Points: 2,270
Default

furnace won't run


Quote:
Originally Posted by SS laser View Post
I am pretty sure on all 90+ furances the pressure switch has to close for the inducer to come on.

Doc Holliday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 11:23 PM   #12
Member
 
JJboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Austin - Texas
Posts: 1,402
Rewards Points: 500
Default

furnace won't run


Quote:
Originally Posted by Doc Holliday View Post
__________________

**Always kill the power ** Hot air rises, but heat will always move from higher to lower temperatures. ** Real man shoot in manual. ** If it ain't grounded, it ain't dead.
JJboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2011, 11:29 PM   #13
Member
 
HvacWiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 286
Rewards Points: 250
Default

furnace won't run


Quote:
Originally Posted by SS laser View Post
I am pretty sure on all 90+ furances the pressure switch has to close for the inducer to come on.



Sometimes its better not to post at all
HvacWiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 01:37 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 7
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace won't run


Ok guess I am wrong. Sorry for the bad info. Just a tin knocker here.
SS laser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2011, 08:35 AM   #15
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 513
Rewards Points: 350
Default

furnace won't run


Quote:
Originally Posted by SS laser View Post
I am pretty sure on all 90+ furances the pressure switch has to close for the inducer to come on.
Not quite....but on some furnaces the board has to see the pressure switch circuit "open" before it tries to start or an error code results.

I am not up on rheem error codes but with green lights this failure mode doesn't sound like it.

Advertisement

Technow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 06:42 PM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 04:51 PM
Furnace Model # Feh-015-04 clicking but not turning on? haimei HVAC 1 12-14-2010 06:01 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts