Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2009, 03:58 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Furnace won't reset


Have a up north home and during winter months we experience power losses and the gas forced air furnace will not reset when power returns. Has caused frozen pipes, any ideas. thanks
DOUGLAS1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 04:11 PM   #2
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Default

Furnace won't reset


Why dosent the furnace reset when the power returns? It should just turn back on without any help.
What type of heating system do you have?
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 04:33 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Furnace won't reset


gas fired hot water boiler
DOUGLAS1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2009, 10:21 PM   #4
Member
 
JohnH1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Chicago, IL.
Posts: 428
Default

Furnace won't reset


There is no reason a loss of power should keep the boiler from restarting once the power is restored. The only thing I could posably think of is if your thermostat is battery powered and batterys went dead. What steps do you take to get running again? You may want to concider adding glycol (antifreez) to the system if powerloss is a common problem. This will help protect the heating system.
JohnH1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2009, 10:11 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 13
Default

Furnace won't reset


replace the primary. losing power shouldnt put your boiler into reset anyway.
thelimit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace question cuts off until I hit the reset switch bmvrdv HVAC 7 12-09-2008 09:54 AM
Furnace Reset Issue Syzygyone HVAC 2 12-01-2008 08:11 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
HEIL furnace keeps kicking off reset switch sunsetacres1318 HVAC 8 11-04-2008 08:35 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.