Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-11-2008, 07:44 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace won't light


I have a goodman GMP100-3 SN#9402030988...The furnace turns on and the ignitor glows then goes out, it performs this action 3 times then the lite blinks 1 time. I know I'm not getting gas through the gas valve. I am trying to confirm a faulty gas valve. The test I have done is when the furnace goes through its cycles I am checking for voltage of any kind to the valve itself but I never get any voltage. I was told the valve is probably bad but, but my thought was if I get voltage to the valve and it does not open, then its faulty but i'm not sure if this test is correct. Thanks, Brian
email...BHayden69@aol.com


Last edited by BHAYDEN69; 11-11-2008 at 03:16 PM. Reason: email address
BHAYDEN69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-11-2008, 11:27 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: palm coast fl
Posts: 588
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Furnace won't light


you are correct you might also hear it click when voltage is supplied you could try jumping it, apply 24v directly while ignitor is glowing and see if it fires if so you know it aint the valve and prolly the board

kennzz05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2008, 07:21 AM   #3
Electrician
 
SD515's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Near Jackson Michigan Area
Posts: 1,450
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Furnace won't light


You’re right bhayden, the valve won’t open until it gets 24V. The schematic label shows how many roll-out and high limit switches it has. Check continuity of those. If any are open, 24V won’t get to the valve. The next question is why a switch is open.

If the valve is a basic 2 wire (probably is), like kennzz said, you can check to see if the valve is working by connecting it directly to the 24V side of the transformer. Be careful…if it is working, gas will come out immediately.

FYI…..I just replaced a valve….did my tests, etc. All the limit switches were fine….the incoming pressure from the meter was too high and caused the valve to ‘wear out’ prematurely. This furnace is only one year old. I see from your serial number yours is a ‘94, so I doubt if you have the same culprit.
__________________
Kyle

Just because you can, doesn't always mean you should
SD515 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 06:42 PM
Pilot light button on furnace won't turn whydonchathen HVAC 5 10-06-2008 12:03 AM
Furnace pilot light simonb HVAC 4 09-12-2007 08:38 AM
Furnace won't light Babybird HVAC 2 03-30-2007 10:48 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.