Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-21-2012, 02:09 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 33
Share |
Default

Furnace wont go on unless hit.


A buddy of mine had an issue like this. Before replacing parts we pulled all the connectors one by one and cleaned them up with a small wire brush. Worked like a charm

AdRock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 02:29 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Furnace wont go on unless hit.


I posted here months ago but never fixed my issue. My furnace is worse the ever. Now it won't go I until I hit every time. I recorded this video and think I know where the issue exist. Looks like the air pressure switch. Any thoughts? Video link below

http://youtu.be/1zls5zOAcq8
ray0890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 02:37 PM   #18
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,243
Default

Furnace wont go on unless hit.


It is posible that that switch is not opening when the unit shuts down. A furnace in one of my houses has something on the control board that looks for that switch to be in the open position before it will start the Induced draft blower. It is a safety feature to keep someone from jumpering the pressure switch.
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 02:43 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Furnace wont go on unless hit.


Quote:
Originally Posted by danpik
It is posible that that switch is not opening when the unit shuts down. A furnace in one of my houses has something on the control board that looks for that switch to be in the open position before it will start the Induced draft blower. It is a safety feature to keep someone from jumpering the pressure switch.
So any ideas on fixing it. Does the switch need replacing?
ray0890 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 02:55 PM   #20
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: western Ny
Posts: 1,243
Default

Furnace wont go on unless hit.


Quote:
Originally Posted by ray0890 View Post
So any ideas on fixing it. Does the switch need replacing?
If it is faulty then yes. I would test it out with an OHM meter first
danpik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 07:50 AM   #21
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,506
Default

Furnace wont go on unless hit.


Merged you 2 threads.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace Model # Feh-015-04 clicking but not turning on? haimei HVAC 1 12-14-2010 05:01 PM
Payne PG9YAB high efficiency 95% furnace water draining problem jchen64 HVAC 9 12-06-2010 06:42 PM
Carrier Infinity 69 Trouble Code 42 bodya1 HVAC 4 12-05-2010 06:43 PM
Problem with Trane gas furnace quovadis HVAC 17 12-22-2008 01:12 PM
Olsen BFL 120 Furnace DaleB HVAC 12 12-19-2008 10:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.