Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-05-2008, 04:53 PM   #1
nitefiter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rye, CO
Posts: 4
Share |
Question

Furnace won't Fire by itself


I'm new to this service --have read a lot of threads on this subject, but my furnace problem is a little different. I have a HEIL updraft (LP Gas) furnace that goes through the pilot light sequence OK, but won't fire off byitself. Serviceman replace the pilot light AND the gas valve, but no success.

I now find that, removing the sight plate in front of the burners, then waiting for thepilot light to come on, THEN slamming the plate back onto its opening seems to cause some pressure in the flame chamber, and it will start. Almost like some kind of pressure, (or lack thereof), problem.
Service guy is stumped. My wife promises to keep me in beer if I sleep by the furnace through the night and keep the house heated.

Any suggestions?


Last edited by F7F3N; 02-05-2008 at 04:54 PM. Reason: edit grammar
F7F3N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2008, 05:04 PM   #2
Mechanical Contractor
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 115
Default

Furnace won't Fire by itself


Call the service guy back, have him return your payment, reinstall your old parts and get a new company to come out and fix the problem.

__________________
100% Union and proud of it.
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 09:02 AM   #3
nitefiter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rye, CO
Posts: 4
Default

Furnace won't Fire by itself


Thanks for all that help. Is that a Union-sanctioned tip that you answer every question with?
F7F3N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2008, 02:47 PM   #4
Member
 
HvacWiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 286
Default

Furnace won't Fire by itself


Thanks for all that help. Is that a Union-sanctioned tip that you answer every question with?

lol
HvacWiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 01:23 PM   #5
nitefiter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rye, CO
Posts: 4
Default

Furnace won't Fire by itself


Solved it myself by going through the process entitled "Instructions For The Homeowner" on page 15 of Honeywell'sManual for their SmartValve, available on the internet. Probably I should have done this in the first place and saved me some dough--Oh well, I got a new valve outof it.
F7F3N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 01:49 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,517
Default

Furnace won't Fire by itself


Quote:
Originally Posted by F7F3N View Post
Solved it myself by going through the process entitled "Instructions For The Homeowner" on page 15 of Honeywell'sManual for their SmartValve, available on the internet. Probably I should have done this in the first place and saved me some dough--Oh well, I got a new valve outof it.
So it was warranty work that didn't cost you I hope?

You may not have wanted to hear it but you know that DVR was right if you were paying for it. The service tech is suppose to know more than the HO. Keep that in mind when it goes off warranty and definitely don't call that guy back. If you call him you'll end up replacing your whole furnace part by part.
jogr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 06:20 PM   #7
nitefiter
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rye, CO
Posts: 4
Default

Furnace won't Fire by itself


jogr--thanks--I really shouldn't have "chastised" DVR for giving me the standard Union response. He may have been right in the long run. I appreciate the responses I got from everyone. Now that my furnace is working again, you may never hear from me again--until something else goes wrong. This DIY service is something, isn't it!!!
F7F3N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2008, 10:58 PM   #8
Mechanical Contractor
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Jersey Shore
Posts: 115
Default

Furnace won't Fire by itself


Quote:
Originally Posted by F7F3N View Post
jogr--thanks--I really shouldn't have "chastised" DVR for giving me the standard Union response. He may have been right in the long run. I appreciate the responses I got from everyone. Now that my furnace is working again, you may never hear from me again--until something else goes wrong. This DIY service is something, isn't it!!!
1) You weren't doing a DIY job here, you had already had a "pro" out there.

2) If he was any good he would have fixed it, ie: time for a different pro.

3) The Union would never sanction giving a HO advice to work on an appliance that could in all probability be turned into a house leveling bomb.

__________________
100% Union and proud of it.
MechanicalDVR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
luxaire furnace wont fire patobrien HVAC 2 11-05-2007 10:02 AM
Gas furnace won't fire Peter Weber HVAC 2 02-08-2007 02:19 PM
Burner won't fire on Payne 490AAV furnace lwhpops HVAC 2 10-20-2006 03:03 PM
Luxaire furnace fails to fire cheesegrump HVAC 1 01-10-2006 07:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.