Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2010, 01:51 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Won't Fire...


My furnace won't fire, and I can't figure out why. The exhaust blower starts, and that's all I get.

It has a new board, new blower motor, and the lines going to and from the exhaust are all clean.

It still has gas supply, but never ignites. It doesn't have a pilot light that burns continually, it has an auto-igniter. Could that be the issue?

Thanks,

Jason.

Need2Know is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 02:02 PM   #2
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Furnace Won't Fire...


check ps . It has to make up b-4 it will fire.. Also could be HSI do you hear gas come out on call for heat ??

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 02:23 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Won't Fire...


well, I don't really know HVAC terms, I just do what I can, so I don't really know what an HSI is, and I'm assuming ps is pressure system?

I'm wondering if there's a bad solenoid, I'll go down there in a bit and listen for gas.
Need2Know is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 02:27 PM   #4
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Furnace Won't Fire...


ps = pressure switch. This has to make up b-4 firing. There is a hose that comes off the vent motor & connects to the ps.. HSI = hot surface ignitor. It glows red & ignites the gas as it comes out of the burners or pilot assy.
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 02:37 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Won't Fire...


Pressure switch! I should have known that!

After all the years I spent in mold temperature control units!

I'll check those first.

Thanks again!
Need2Know is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 04:23 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 5
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Won't Fire...


It makes the PS. I never hear gas start to flow however, so I'm guessing its the solenoid.

It has a Honeywell Smartvalve. Also, the model of the furnace is an Armstrong Ultra 93.
Need2Know is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2010, 06:23 PM   #7
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Furnace Won't Fire...


O' I'm sorry...you have the dumb valve..It can be checked.. I just don't feel comfortable telling you the easy way check them because of FIRE hazard due to your experence level..

You may need to call a pro

kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
check igniter, cold house, gas furnace problem, please help, won't ignite


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 04:51 PM
Ruud Furnace Won't Fire jasonckcmo HVAC 26 12-01-2009 08:55 PM
Oil furnace does not fire up sbhavinm HVAC 5 01-17-2009 08:06 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 02:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.