Furnace Will Not Fire - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-27-2013, 12:10 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace will not fire


I have a RHEEM RGDG- 100 AUER gas furnace that will not fire, the pilot was out and I started that but nothing else happens just a humming noise...Its getting cold help

Advertisement

flash013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 12:25 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Southern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 99
Rewards Points: 75
Default

furnace will not fire


Is your themostat calling for heat (is your furnace getting the signal)?

Advertisement

mlijoi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 12:34 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace will not fire


I changed the batteries in the themostat and it says heat on, also the furnace is making a humming noise
flash013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 12:48 PM   #4
Member
 
FClef's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 216
Rewards Points: 156
Default

furnace will not fire


Can you determine where the humming is coming from? Is it a motor, a transformer, the gas valve, or a control?

Pictures may help.
__________________

"Human beings can always be relied upon to assert, with vigor, their God-given right to be stupid"
Dean Koontz - Seize The Night
FClef is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 01:05 PM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,040
Rewards Points: 718
Default

furnace will not fire


post 2 pics of it with both doors off so we can see which exact model U have.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 02:10 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace will not fire


pictures
Attached Thumbnails
furnace will not fire-moto_0583.jpg   furnace will not fire-moto_0584.jpg   furnace will not fire-moto_0585.jpg  
flash013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 03:19 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,040
Rewards Points: 718
Default

furnace will not fire


Press the door switch in and put duct tape on it to keep it closed. Check for 24 volts between W and C on the circuit board. The humming is the transformer and OK. If no 24 volts check between R and C. If no volts then a fuse is blown. First thing that should happen is the exhaust fan starts. If no volts between W and C then the thermostat may be bad ( if you have 24 volts between R and C).
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 03:32 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,614
Rewards Points: 2,542
Default

furnace will not fire


that is a criterian furnace with a standing pilot.... clean pilot and replace thermocupler and make sure its fully engulfed in the pilot....ben sr
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 04:40 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 4
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace will not fire


I read 27 volts
flash013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 04:48 PM   #10
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,040
Rewards Points: 718
Default

furnace will not fire


where? If you have 27 volts between W and C then the exhaust fan should run. If not it is seized up or the circuit board is bad.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Nordyne furnace, error code: Pressure switch stuck closed. javagrendel HVAC 21 03-25-2013 02:14 PM
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 04:51 PM
Changed gas ball valve and York furnace won't fire, please help. philsoldat HVAC 35 11-03-2010 12:12 PM
my furnace wont fire... please help! chrider88 HVAC 7 01-22-2010 10:43 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts