Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-16-2010, 04:45 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Share |
Default

furnace vent


Have a Tempstar furnace at our cabin that is vented thru sidewall with single wall galvanized pipe. Lots of problems with condensation backing up and furnace repairs. Could we vent up thru the roof with B-Vent pipe in a vertical application to eliminate condensation? No chimney is available.TIA

oldbuck52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 05:03 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,056
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace vent


Yes, you can. provided its not a 90%/condensing furnace. if it is a condensing furnace, then it should be vented with PVC pipe.

beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 06:18 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace vent


it is not a 90% /condensing furnace. Would you use b-vent all the way up or just for the pass thru the roof? Could I replace the existing wall pass thru with b-vent and the insulate around it with a chaisse? Thank you!
oldbuck52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 06:23 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,056
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace vent


B vent the whole way.

Good chance your furnace is NOT approved to be side vented. Without the addition of a power vent. which would also require a barometric damper. Which causes more cold air to be drawn into the building.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 06:32 PM   #5
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,411
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace vent


You can go horizontal thru the wall with B vent turn up with a B vent 90 el and continue it up the side of the house and terminate it above the roof line. Need to be above the highest peak of the roof or 5 feet from the side of the roof so you don't get swirling winds downdrafting it and tripping the pressure switch. Then build a chase around it for cosmetic reasons. May be simpler and easier to go straight up thru the roof. Code requires a cleanout/inspection tee in some areas so you may need to have that outside instead of the elbow.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 06:39 PM   #6
HVAC / Plumbing
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,801
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace vent


Quote:
Originally Posted by yuri View Post
Then build a chase around it for cosmetic reasons.
Can you believe
My area requires this chase to be insulated . They say it's cold enough here to still cause condensation problems.. I don't argue I just comply
kenmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 06:43 PM   #7
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,411
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace vent


They may be right. It is rare for chimneys to be run externally where I am but I have seen a few. Mids are running flue gas temps close to the dew point as it loses heat in the vent connector before it enters the chimney and more as it rises. I would not try it w/o insulating it and insulating it sounds like a good idea. A B vent is not insulated between the layers, just an air gap I believe, A vent is insulated I believe.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".

Last edited by yuri; 10-16-2010 at 06:46 PM.
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2010, 08:32 PM   #8
Chicago, IL
 
Michael Thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,037
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace vent


Oldbuck52,

Outside (exterior) b-venting is not recommended by b-vent manufactures. When it must be done, installation is an insulated chase is recommended:

__________________
Home Inspections, Infrared (Thermal Imaging) Leak Identification and Inspection Services, Roof, Attic, Building, Basement and Foundation Moisture Intrusion and Water Leak Inspections, Troubled Building Consultations - Serving Chicago and Suburbs http://paragoninspects.com/
Michael Thomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 08:59 AM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace vent


could we install a new energy 90+ efficient furnace without running duct work to any specific rooms. The cabin is approx600SF on main floor with 400sf on second story. The existing furnace has only 2 hot air escapes, one blowing into crawl space and the other into main area of cabin. Could this same approach work with new 90+ or do we need to run major duct work under cabin? Thank you for your help.
oldbuck52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 09:05 AM   #10
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,056
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace vent


A 90% can be connected the same way
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-17-2010, 09:16 AM   #11
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,411
Rewards Points: 0
Default

furnace vent


As long as it is not an expensive high end unit with ECM variable speed motor. They need ductwork to suck and work against. Overkill for a cabin. Why not go with an electric furnace. VERY VERY reliable and as complicated as a toaster. 10 kw unit is probably all you need. High efficiency units need a condensate drain and if the cabin loses heat/power failure that can freezeup and get damaged etc etc.

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
Gas Furnace Vent Size tjeieio HVAC 6 02-05-2010 03:45 PM
Oil furnace does not fire up sbhavinm HVAC 5 01-17-2009 07:06 AM
90% Furnace Vent Lines tk707 HVAC 3 01-13-2009 08:56 PM
Is my furnace a direct vent or power vent? wease HVAC 5 02-02-2007 07:55 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.