Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-28-2009, 03:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Share |
Default

furnace trouble


i have a carrier 58gc100-2a gas furnace want to know if i have the right thermocouple on it i put a Johnstone 30" L36-070 on it is this right because the pilot will not stay lit?

jkwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 06:56 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 8
Default

furnace trouble


That thermocouple should work. Do you have a good pilot flame hitting it ? If not the pilot orifice may need cleaning.

mikef54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 06:59 PM   #3
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Default

furnace trouble


Most thermocouples are universal. I agree with Mike about checking that the t-couple is in the pilot flame. If it is double check the t-couple is tight with the gas valve. If it checks out you may have a bad gas valve and the pull in coil has high resistance to the milivolt generated by the t-couple
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 08:24 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Default

furnace trouble


plumer 1 duh! i was not asking for the obvious i wanted some intellegent info. i cleaned it, i checked to see if the flame was hitting it i put a new gas valvle in all before i posted the problem. so, the furnace runs ine cycle shuts down and the pilot does not want to relight the voltages are all good the gas presure may be a little strong but thats it what now?
jkwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 08:36 PM   #5
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Default

furnace trouble


Quote:
Originally Posted by jkwilson View Post
i have a carrier 58gc100-2a gas furnace want to know if i have the right thermocouple on it i put a Johnstone 30" L36-070 on it is this right because the pilot will not stay lit?

I answered your question that you asked, apperantly it wasn't that obvious or you wouldn't asked and gave some ideas to what may be causing you problem.

So,

Duh, you seem to have a good handle on it

Keep in mind that there are alot of pro's here giving free advise to you, sharing their free time answering question to help you. For free and not a costly service call. Attitude gets you nothing
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer

Last edited by Plumber101; 10-28-2009 at 08:39 PM.
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 08:51 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

furnace trouble


Biting the hand that feeds you.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 08:59 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Default

furnace trouble


no nobody likes to be called stubid it does not matter whether it is in a quote by john wayne or i not do not care to have his input if he has to add insult!

Last edited by jkwilson; 10-28-2009 at 09:02 PM.
jkwilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 09:14 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

furnace trouble


Quote:
Originally Posted by jkwilson View Post
no nobody likes to be called stubid it does not matter whether it is in a quote by john wayne or i not do not care to have his input if he has to add insult!
I didn't see that word in this thread. Can you explain where this is coming from?
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 09:21 PM   #9
GC/Master Plumber/Mech
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Hays, KS
Posts: 1,470
Default

furnace trouble


Hey yoyizit

He couldn't seperate the thread from my signature
__________________
John Wayne once said "Life is tough and it is even tougher if you are stupid"

Tempstar and Trane Dealer
Plumber101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 09:27 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

furnace trouble


Quote:
Originally Posted by Plumber101 View Post
Hey yoyizit

He couldn't seperate the thread from my signature
http://www.google.com/search?client=...UTF-8&oe=UTF-8
?

http://www.google.com/search?client=...UTF-8&oe=UTF-8
?

http://www.google.com/search?client=...UTF-8&oe=UTF-8
?

Ay, yi, yi. . .

Last edited by Yoyizit; 10-28-2009 at 09:31 PM.
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2009, 10:39 PM   #11
Member
 
HvacWiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Northwest Ohio
Posts: 286
Default

furnace trouble


Quote:
Originally Posted by jkwilson View Post
plumer 1 duh! i was not asking for the obvious i wanted some intellegent info. i cleaned it, i checked to see if the flame was hitting it i put a new gas valvle in all before i posted the problem. so, the furnace runs ine cycle shuts down and the pilot does not want to relight the voltages are all good the gas presure may be a little strong but thats it what now?


After that comment I would just say goodluck figuring out your problem yourself
HvacWiz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 04:53 AM   #12
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,052
Default

furnace trouble


Quote:
Originally Posted by jkwilson View Post
plumer 1 duh! i was not asking for the obvious
Apparently, Plumber failed the mind reading course 101 like many of us did.
I could swear he answered the question you asked.

I would check the


oops, lap top battery dieing.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 09:14 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Michigan
Posts: 440
Default

furnace trouble


Hey wilson, no soup for you...
SKIP4661 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-29-2009, 11:00 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NW of D.C.
Posts: 5,990
Default

furnace trouble


Quote:
Originally Posted by SKIP4661 View Post
Hey wilson, no soup for you...
http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_bEeoqPfDBL...0/soupnazi.jpg
Yoyizit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2009, 12:26 AM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 39
Default

furnace trouble


Quote:
Originally Posted by Yoyizit View Post
Biting the hand that feeds you.
I agree !! I have had 100% success with advice/comment from pro/users in this forum.

"jkwilson", there is lesson here.... being nice and polite will take you far in life...

anku is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Help troubleshooting furnace problem robert_ HVAC 21 02-15-2012 08:04 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
Furnace Trouble Boulderv7 HVAC 3 01-29-2007 03:07 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.