Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 02-17-2008, 10:46 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Share |
Default

Furnace Transfer Switch...


Hi Biggles
Wow! I'm impressed ! and that Generator looks like it just came out of the Factory.. now what I'm thinking of is for a DIY type of fella, someone who doesn't want to, or can't layout bucks for a system that he may never need, I live in Prince Edward Island Can. and Winter weather often leaves us with power outages, 2 weeks ago parts of the Island were out for a week, thankfully it only lasted 24 hours at my abode, but we can have an ice storm followed by freezing tempatures, this is the big danger in this area, and to have an easy and inexpensive way to keep pipes from bursting in the cold is what I had in mind when I though of a simple extension cord box that would keep the occupants of a house warm and prevent damage from occuring..I have a 6 Circuit panel waiting to be installed, and I plan to get this done first thing this spring, I a bought a 6250 Generator in the fall, didn't have the panel installed and had to jury rig a connection to my Furnace, I though there are lots of Generators out there that are not fitted with a panel hookup, and probable lots of homerowners that have no idea how to connect it to their furnace...These were my thoughts at the time. I can tell that you are knowledgable on this subject, but most home owners are not.
When I got a Generator this fall, my Wife thiugh it was a waste on money, but during the 24 hours that it kept the furnace, freezer,fridge going she even muttered that we should of had one years ago...bye for now DonR

DonR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2008, 09:14 AM   #17
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Default

Furnace Transfer Switch...


i know your hesitation on going into the house panel with generated power and running/switching over and such.just like you stated it may be a waste of time/money when you don't use it,but boy when you run it during a outage don't you feel great,and secure especially with the furnace running in the winters up there.imagine this for your hook-up have an electrican run power pole sized wire into your basement CB area into a fused/disconnect...and then the other side of the disconnect into the bottom of the panel shut down switch.you shut the CB panel main off...start your generator(manually plug in the 2/115V lines at the generator as shown)the power is at the top of the disconnect in the basement...main switch on CB panel is off(you could also put all the sub breakers into the off position)put the disconnect up for the generator power.you now have 115V on each side of the CB for the house...start putting on the sub breakers top to bottom...refrig/heating biggest draws on start then put them all on.be conservative with the big stuff dishwasher,micros,washing machines,ceiling fans..cool stuff...minimal draws...computers,TVs,sound systems,lights just run them as you would normally at night.might want to think about emergency wall mounted lighting very low profile and cheap and they run for 90 minutes,and can be taken off a wall socket either down the wall...position the floods just to hit the ceiling to light up the rooms,halls,kitchen.check out HD up there or www.grainger.com for the styles they come up in a black out you walk out and prep your generator 30 minutes later you switch over and the floods go off and the house comes to life again....your neighbors will be knocking on your door with extension cords!that uinit you have does an easy 60 amps figure 6-10 amps to run a house at night in the winter,that's 6-10 houses you could run

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring double switch for new ceiling fan toolmanwannabe Electrical 17 11-15-2011 09:34 PM
1 phase generator feeding a 2 phase transfer switch MAP40 Electrical 12 01-01-2009 07:38 AM
Basic Switch wiring question; Dimmer to Toggle switch (Pictures included) inspectator Electrical 8 08-07-2007 01:19 AM
RUUD Gas Furnace Pressure Switch? erik11 HVAC 8 12-06-2006 11:39 PM
Detached garage adding a 3 way switch. Slatherd Electrical 4 01-02-2006 02:53 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.