Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 05-18-2007, 11:23 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 'burbs of Detroit, MI
Posts: 467
Rewards Points: 6
Share |
Default

Furnace sizing opinions


Right now I've got 800sf being heated by a 70,000btu 80% furnace. I live in Michigan and it gets cold here, having uninsulated walls doesn't help the problem. The last two winters my furnace kicks on and runs and runs and runs to the tune of a $200 gas bill in December, January, and February..... and I keep the temp at 64-67. This summer I'm finishing the bonus room upstairs which will make the entire house 1100sf. Now the fan motor is dead and I'm debating a couple things. Should I:

1. Replace the motor, keep the furnace
2. Replace the unit with a newer, same size, unit
3. Replace the whole unit with a bigger unit.
4. Replace the unit with comparable size but higher efficiency
5. Move to a warmer state (this is my wife's solution)
Thanks in advance for your feedback! Have a great weekend!

moneymgmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2007, 12:37 AM   #2
Oldbie
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: S. Texas
Posts: 13
Rewards Points: 0
Default

Furnace sizing opinions


How old is the furnace? If it's at that age to be replaced or is unsafe- replace it.
I would have a HVAC contractor do a heat load on the home to size the furnace and a/c properly, but not before looking into insulating the home and repairing any infiltration problems you may have in order to save on the cost of operating the system. These two are the most important for any home. Then the system can be designed for the more efficient conditions.

mrtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2007, 12:26 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: 'burbs of Detroit, MI
Posts: 467
Rewards Points: 6
Default

Furnace sizing opinions


Allegedly, the furnace is not that old, maybe 7 years. That's what the PO told me but I think it was a refurbished furnace or something along the lines of being re-newed.
moneymgmt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 07:01 PM
How to Size a Furnace super_man4471 HVAC 18 03-25-2010 09:12 AM
Replacing My Furnace, few simple questions compression HVAC 10 02-03-2007 05:00 PM
Could installing a furnace to the floor joists cause the floor to slope? JKL HVAC 5 01-03-2007 09:23 PM
Furnace does't start when Fan is 'auto' stepicz HVAC 2 10-18-2005 06:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.