Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-14-2007, 01:02 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace size question


My brother is planning an addition here in WI.
He would like to keep his existing furnace/AC.
His heat loss calcs are 59800 BTU
His existing furnace is 60000 BTU

Is this too close or is it OK since it is under the furnace rating (barely)?

Thanks

IGOTTAHEMI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2007, 05:12 PM   #2
scotch on the rocks
 
hvactech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 56
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Furnace size question


That should be OK, just remember furnaces for some reason are rated by input not output for example a 80% efficient furnace, rated at 100K btus will only produce 80K btus of usable heat.

hvactech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 05:13 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2,083
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Furnace size question


Will the new addition have 2 x 4 or 2 x 6 walls?
Will he be using energy efficient windows?
How much insulation (R-value) will he be installing in the walls?
What R-value is he planning on using in the attic if the new addition?
Is the current space (walls and attic) properly insulated?
redline is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 08:34 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Furnace size question


Quote:
Originally Posted by IGOTTAHEMI View Post
My brother is planning an addition here in WI.
He would like to keep his existing furnace/AC.
His heat loss calcs are 59800 BTU
His existing furnace is 60000 BTU

Is this too close or is it OK since it is under the furnace rating (barely)?

Thanks
Wisconsin...........cold as he ..........your going to need supplimental heat for that room, how about a electric baseboard for that room. Its economical, runs off of its own t-stat and its quite, even heat.
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 08:59 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace size question


Redline,
2x6 walls
dbl pane windows
R19 in walls
R38 or more in ceiling
House is only 5 years old, so yes it's faily efficient
The new room will have an open concept, so plenty of air flow from existing house to new part. You won't be able to tell it's an addition, appearance wise.

Thanks for the thoughts
IGOTTAHEMI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2007, 09:38 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Furnace size question


Quote:
Originally Posted by IGOTTAHEMI View Post
Redline,
2x6 walls
dbl pane windows
R19 in walls
R38 or more in ceiling
House is only 5 years old, so yes it's faily efficient
The new room will have an open concept, so plenty of air flow from existing house to new part. You won't be able to tell it's an addition, appearance wise.

Thanks for the thoughts
Wisconsin...........cold as he ..........your going to need supplimental heat for that room, how about a electric baseboard for that room. Its economical, runs off of its own t-stat and its quite, even heat.


Put it in.........if yopu need it its there...........if not then great but better to have it and not need it, then to need it and NOT have it.
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2007, 05:57 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 78
Rewards Points: 75
Default

Furnace size question


I agree with the above posts, you should be fine (especially in WI) for cooling needs, but definitely add supplemental heat in some form for those winters! Baseboard heat would be your best bet, and if you can't have them all around, definitely locate them below all windows.

pjpjpjpj is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gas furnace exhaust vent question nowell HVAC 7 01-30-2012 08:31 AM
How to Size a Furnace super_man4471 HVAC 18 03-25-2010 09:12 AM
Wire size for distance Question fburke Electrical 4 07-28-2007 09:29 AM
another question for a miller furnace problem jb9270 HVAC 1 02-05-2007 02:04 PM
wire size wire to 10kw furnace? lochcarron Electrical 1 04-10-2005 07:43 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.