Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2012, 02:42 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace size


K guys ive got one of those fancy 2 stage 90% efficient keepright furnaces, but only run on hi stage that is 50 000 btu, and dont use a dc motor for the fan, so its on full blast all the time anyways...
right now were heating our small converted cottage (under 800' main floor) and 2 story over half (under 400 sq) in my un professional shade tree mechanic/house DIY contractor its way over powered since when it comes on it blows the roof off...my question is how big of an area can these furnaces heat? were planning on adding an addition and just seeing if we need to upgrade or if we will be alright?
just FYI i ran all the ductwork in our crawlspace (all 17" of it) i hung it from the floor joists and it runs in the horizontal setup, it can be ran in 4 different positions...
thanks for any info guys

corzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 02:56 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace size


i guess i should add what we plan to do for our addition...the additon will be 400 sq foot main, with 2nd story over it...the existing house will be converted to entirely 2 story.
thanks

corzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 05:11 PM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,025
Rewards Points: 3,714
Default

furnace size


Moved to HVAC forum.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 05:12 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,025
Rewards Points: 3,714
Default

furnace size


Even 2 stage furnaces with standard blowers run on a lower speed in first stage. It may not be set up right.

How big of a house it can heat, depends on how well built the house is.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 06:43 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 16
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace size


haha ok.
its a converted cottage so its a pile....but we had extra insulation pumped into the walls so its pretty sound, the new construction will obviously be much better with 2/6 construction, however due to being on the lake my wife will be insisting that the entire north facing walls will be windows haha
so any guesses? right now it heats the place up pretty quickly.
like i said before since it isn't running on the dc motor things were wired differently so it comes on strong right off the bat. not really sure why you would want the fan to only come on slowly at the beginning anyways.
corzy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2012, 08:50 PM   #6
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

furnace size


Your location, window size, type and placement, insulation, wall thickness, house orientation, floor plan, ETC. ETC. ETC. So many variables. You may as well use this.


ACME air conditioning calculator

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 06:42 PM
Furnace air filtration advice stephen_smith HVAC 7 12-24-2010 03:24 AM
How to Size a Furnace super_man4471 HVAC 18 03-25-2010 10:12 AM
Furnace size krb HVAC 8 11-14-2009 02:40 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.