Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 01-18-2010, 12:42 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lexington,KY
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace shuts off and won't come back on for at least an hour


If it meets your approval, I would like to have Shane Pelfrey come out tomorrow morning and do a complete walk-thru the home (including the basement). He will measure up the home so we can do an accurate load calculation on the home to determine what your requirements are for both heating and cooling. Your old furnace was a 155,000btu furnace and your new one is a 140,000btu furnace.

Due to the report that the service technician, Oleg, gave me, I believe we will have to install a smaller capacity furnace. The efficiency of the new ones are so much greater than the old ones that even your lower rated furnace is just too large for your space. Before I draw up too many conclusions, I want to complete a detailed load calculation to help ensure the right decision(s).

I know you were considering going to a dual-fuel application at one point. Now might be a great time to do so, especially with the large gas bills you find yourself having to pay. Once the load calculation is completed (this week), I’d like to get together with you and discuss the possibilities of replacing the complete system with a dual-fuel (hybrid) system. Of course, the amount you would be expected to pay would only be for the heat pump and coil. I will be replacing the furnace at LexPro’s expense.

Please let me know if tomorrow will play out ok with your schedule. I know you said you were leaving town soon, but I cannot find the email that indicated the dates you’d be gone. I apologize for that! Remember, as I had said earlier, getting your situation taken care of is of high importance to me. I want to get things right for you as soon as possible.





.AOLWebSuite .AOLPicturesFullSizeLink { height: 1px; width: 1px; overflow: hidden; } .AOLWebSuite a {color:blue; text-decoration: underline; cursor: pointer} .AOLWebSuite a.hsSig {cursor: default}


Last edited by clseahorse; 01-18-2010 at 12:52 PM.
clseahorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 12:51 PM   #17
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lexington,KY
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace shuts off and won't come back on for at least an hour


If it meets your approval, I would like to have Shane Pelfrey come out tomorrow morning and do a complete walk-thru the home (including the basement). He will measure up the home so we can do an accurate load calculation on the home to determine what your requirements are for both heating and cooling. Your old furnace was a 155,000btu furnace and your new one is a 140,000btu furnace.

Due to the report that the service technician, Oleg, gave me, I believe we will have to install a smaller capacity furnace. The efficiency of the new ones are so much greater than the old ones that even your lower rated furnace is just too large for your space. Before I draw up too many conclusions, I want to complete a detailed load calculation to help ensure the right decision(s).

I know you were considering going to a dual-fuel application at one point. Now might be a great time to do so, especially with the large gas bills you find yourself having to pay. Once the load calculation is completed (this week), I’d like to get together with you and discuss the possibilities of replacing the complete system with a dual-fuel (hybrid) system. Of course, the amount you would be expected to pay would only be for the heat pump and coil. I will be replacing the furnace at LexPro’s expense.

Please let me know if tomorrow will play out ok with your schedule. I know you said you were leaving town soon, but I cannot find the email that indicated the dates you’d be gone. I apologize for that! Remember, as I had said earlier, getting your situation taken care of is of high importance to me. I want to get things right for you as soon as possible.
clseahorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 02:35 PM   #18
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,503
Rewards Points: 2,690
Default

furnace shuts off and won't come back on for at least an hour


Quote:
Originally Posted by clseahorse View Post
This is the info the tech gave me:
1 stage-run 7 min G-pres 5 wc in 88 degress out 158 degrees 70 degree max
2nd stage - run 5 min 9 wc in 93 degrees out 172 degrees total 79 degrees max 70
That's all I know. They said they would get back to me..............
Those manifold pressures are low. And you still have high temp rise.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 02:41 PM   #19
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,503
Rewards Points: 2,690
Default

furnace shuts off and won't come back on for at least an hour


They should do a load calc. Not doing one is what got them into trouble in the first place.
While they are there. they should also do a static pressure test on the system. This will help them determine if the duct system is good enough for the size system the load calc says you need.

While they are saying you just have to pay for the coil heat pump. Be careful of that charge. May be a way they are going to cover some of the cost that Lexpro won't pay for(I could be wrong).

A load calc should not take a week to get results. This is the age of computers. They can be done on site with a laptop that has the program loaded on it. Not all companies have this though. But, it doesn't take long to enter the data into a computer at the office.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 07:50 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lexington,KY
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace shuts off and won't come back on for at least an hour


Finally got the load calc back. They say I need to have an 80/90 Btu furnace instead of the 140 they put in. That seems like an awful big mistake to me. I had a 155 put in in 83 and it worked fine up until last year. That's 25 years which I think is pretty good for a furnace especially one that was this much too big. 80/90 seems awful small. I have a 3500 sq. ft home. Does that seem right? What are their responsibilities since they didn't do the right job in the first place. They talk about putting in a new AC but I really don't need a new AC. Mine works fine and I barely ever use it. I'm afraid this new furnace will be too small....then what? Also I paid for a 140. Isn't that more expensive than an 80/90??? What a mess. Can anyone help?
clseahorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2010, 09:14 PM   #21
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,503
Rewards Points: 2,690
Default

furnace shuts off and won't come back on for at least an hour


80 to 90,000 BTU output sounds closer to what a 3500 sq ft really needs.

That one you had put in in 83 had a much thicker heat exchanger. And didn't need to move as much air as a new one of today does.

I would ask them to see the load calc.

If its a 90% furnace they are going to use. It cost more then the one they originally installed.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 03:11 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lexington,KY
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace shuts off and won't come back on for at least an hour


Hmmm. Thanks for the advice. The 80/90s are usually what they put in my small rentals which are usually about 1300 square ft. so it's very confusing. They say I can't do a 90% efficient cause I'm in the attic. My last one was an 80% as well. Thanks again for your advice!!!!!
clseahorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 03:16 PM   #23
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,503
Rewards Points: 2,690
Default

furnace shuts off and won't come back on for at least an hour


They are really over sizing your 1300 sq ft rentals then.

Use [url=http://hvaccomputer.com/talkref.asp] HVAC Calc /url] to see what size you need.
if you don't trust them.

plus, you can also see what size your 1300 sq ft rentals should have had. And see if you paid for larger furnaces then you needed for them.

80,000 output at 80% efficiency is a 100,000 BTU input furnace.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 05:14 PM   #24
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,592
Rewards Points: 2,322
Default

furnace shuts off and won't come back on for at least an hour


Calculator:Load Calculator
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 01:33 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lexington,KY
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace shuts off and won't come back on for at least an hour


O.K. so I'm meeting with the contractor in the next few days. He wants to put in the smaller furnace and is coming to discuss the details. Right now my house is 72 degrees, the attic is 94.8 degrees and it is about 34 degrees outside, cloudy no sun to speak off coming in the windows. Furnace seems to be OK the past week or so but Ive kept it at 72 or lower. I'm still afraid we may be missing something. Can you guys give me any suggestions as to what questions I should ask him and what I should expect him to do in this case. I really don't want him to put in all the time, effort and expense of changing out the furnace and still have it not be right. It needs to be right this time for both our sakes. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
clseahorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 10:22 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lexington,KY
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace shuts off and won't come back on for at least an hour


O.K. Load calc came back and he says I need a 90 btu furnace. But I have a 5 ton AC. Is that going to work? I really don't want this botched up twice.
clseahorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 10:27 PM   #27
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,503
Rewards Points: 2,690
Default

furnace shuts off and won't come back on for at least an hour


If it has a 5 ton blower no problem.

90,000 should come in a 4 and 5 ton blower configuration.

Ask him for the model number, if you want to make sure before its installed.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 10:29 PM   #28
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lexington,KY
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace shuts off and won't come back on for at least an hour


GMH80905CN is what he gave me.
clseahorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 10:35 PM   #29
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,503
Rewards Points: 2,690
Default

furnace shuts off and won't come back on for at least an hour


GMH80905CN
The 5 indicates a 5 ton blower.

I'd want a 90%plus furnace my self. But you might not find a 5 ton drive in that configuration.

May sure they fix the crappy humidifier set up you have.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2010, 08:48 AM   #30
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lexington,KY
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace shuts off and won't come back on for at least an hour


Cool. Thanks!!!

clseahorse is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off





Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.