Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-18-2011, 06:37 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace runs for an hour before radiators heat up


Why does my furnace run for an hour before the radiators heat up. The system is full, radiators are bled, thermostat is new. Could my circulator pump be too small or do I need a second one? House is a 1 1/2 story with a small addition.


Last edited by cokeman168; 11-18-2011 at 06:39 PM.
cokeman168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 06:49 PM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

furnace runs for an hour before radiators heat up


whats the temperature setting on the boiler for the water for the baseboard

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 07:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,436
Rewards Points: 2,186
Default

furnace runs for an hour before radiators heat up


from a cold start some boilers will take 1/2 hr to 45 min to heat up water to 140 +degrees;;;;;copper slantfin or cast iron radiators depends on size of system as well.....may be normal from cold start.....sizes would help
ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 07:31 PM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

furnace runs for an hour before radiators heat up


the older boilers actual maintain the water in quantity,but the cold start ones loop the water to pass thru the boiler on passes and out to the house....so if the baseboard itself is cooled off that will take longer to heat up to limit.when you go down to the boiler and don't see the main burner on but the circulator is running check your thermometer on the boiler that is your set point on the controller it has been reached,but the stat is calling for heat still as the circulator running will indicate
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 07:21 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace runs for an hour before radiators heat up


Thanks Fellas! I guess it's just due to starting from cold. It ony runs 2-3 times a day...even when we're in the dead of winter...so I should probably not complain. Thanks again for your help.
cokeman168 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2011, 08:41 PM   #6
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

furnace runs for an hour before radiators heat up


think about the stat satisfying and the house is comfortable for that stat to call again for heat the temp has to go below your setting say 68F-70F imagine the temperature of the water in the baseboard/radiators and a cold wall before the stat feels it...your good to go... if you have old fashion radiators with a bear wall behind them building radiator covers with insulated backs will get the heat reflected quicker out into the rooms...slipping a sheet of foil backed styrafoam might not go good with the room decor. heat always gravitates to the coldest area reflecting it out covered or not..something to consider


Last edited by biggles; 11-23-2011 at 08:51 PM.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VisionPRO Setup Functions & Heat Pump infoskr HVAC 34 11-20-2013 04:24 PM
Heatpump vs Natural Gas - Energy Cost Spreadsheet zootjeff HVAC 8 11-19-2011 10:45 PM
Service tech won't repair furnace with cracked heat exchanger. GloBigRed HVAC 16 11-18-2010 02:27 AM
Installing natural gas furnace in place of heat pump, please help KlamathMog HVAC 17 10-20-2009 01:55 PM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.