Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-15-2012, 01:34 PM   #16
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 14
Share |
Default

furnace run time ?


Fix'n it:

I'm with you on this thread, I just had a high efficiency unit installed (95%) and it seems as if runs more than my old unit (78%). My home was built in the early 90s.

I've been watching the gas meter every few days and comparing my bills with last year, and I am using about the same amount of gas. Any one here able to tell me if this is to be expected?

frumdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 01:47 PM   #17
Items wanted: Time
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 195
Default

furnace run time ?


Nobody can give you anything even resembling an accurate answer to that question Way too many variables
NiNe O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 01:57 PM   #18
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 14
Default

furnace run time ?


I'm sorry. 95% efficiency 105k btu in 1900 sq foot home. Runs around 4-5 times an hour for anywhere from 5-10 minutes.
frumdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 02:01 PM   #19
Items wanted: Time
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 195
Default

furnace run time ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by frumdogg View Post
I'm sorry. 95% efficiency 105k btu in 1900 sq foot home. Runs around 4-5 times an hour for anywhere from 5-10 minutes.
This nowhere near resembles an accurate statement.
NiNe O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 02:18 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ohio
Posts: 14
Default

furnace run time ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by NiNe O View Post
This nowhere near resembles an accurate statement.

what soecifics would be of benefit? no need to be rough
frumdogg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 02:41 PM   #21
Items wanted: Time
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Howell, MI
Posts: 195
Default

furnace run time ?


Type of home. Outdoor temperature. Time of day. Sun shining. People in the home. Ductwork. Filter. Setpoint.
NiNe O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 02:55 PM   #22
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 436
Default

furnace run time ?


How big was your old furnace?

105k for a 20 year old 1900sqft house sounds excessive....where are you located?

My 2000sqft house built in the same time period only needs 35k down to 18F.
Technow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2012, 09:36 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,619
Default

furnace run time ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by hammerlane View Post
Hanging out where in open air?

What does 70 on, 74 off mean?
yeah. so surrounding items that have heat in them, don't effect what the thermometer is reading = it is reading only the air temp.

furnace = 70degrees it turns on. 74 degrees it shuts off.

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant 394J Furnace - Pilot stays ON all the time Davexxx HVAC 17 04-08-2012 06:46 PM
Moving furnace & redoing ducting cbrc5eric HVAC 0 02-09-2012 08:13 AM
Furnace fan won't switch on--unpredictable intermittent problem arvonon HVAC 3 01-22-2012 04:46 PM
first time startup on Bryant furnace - furnace calls for heat and will not stop luvheat HVAC 22 02-14-2009 08:56 AM
Problem with Trane gas furnace quovadis HVAC 17 12-22-2008 01:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.