Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-12-2012, 09:06 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,506
Share |
Default

furnace run time ?


i know there are a lot of variables. but is there some kind of rule of thumb that states about how much a furnace should run ? example, say the house is properly insulated and the hvac is properly installed and operating. the furnace should run about 15mins every hour.

Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 09:18 PM   #2
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

furnace run time ?


Run time is more dependant on temperature, insulation, outdoor climate, windows....etc. Every home I've ever been in has a different situation. The only way to even get close to structured run times is to oversize the equipment. Unfortunately that creates more problems than it solves.

__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 04:14 AM   #3
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 24,546
Default

furnace run time ?


Plus your thermostat may have a CPH setting, and the stat will vary its run time by that setting also.

At 65 outdoor temp, the furnace shouldn't need to run. At design outdoor temp the furnace should basically be running 24/7. Convert your outdoor temps to % of load, and that is the % of time a properly sized furnace should have to run.

EG: -10 outdoor design, 65 no heat needed. Thats 75 degrees difference. 100/75=1.33, so if the outdoor temp is 30. 30*1.33=40. At 30 degrees outdoor temp the furnace should be running 40 percent of the time. Or on a thermostat with a CPH setting of 3, 8 minutes on 12 minutes off, repeated.

Thats an approximation, as 30 degrees during the night ill take more heat then 30 degrees during the day when your home is receiving solar gain.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 06:22 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

furnace run time ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
i know there are a lot of variables. but is there some kind of rule of thumb that states about how much a furnace should run
Your first sentence says it....a lot of variables. You could hook up an hour meter to the gas valve which is what I did. Anytime the gas valve is open...receiving voltage...the hour meter advances.

I use the hour meter to gauge run time and when to change the filter which for me is about every 125 hours.

A few photos below.

The bottom photo shows the gas valve with the hour meter wired in. I just used single to double disconnects.
As a note...the middle photo in the left column appears to show the greenfield passing thru the 4" square box. It does not...it passes behind it. The only think in the 4" box is the hour meter and its wires.
Attached Thumbnails
furnace run time ?-1111.jpg   furnace run time ?-22222.jpg   furnace run time ?-33333.jpg   furnace run time ?-44444.jpg   furnace run time ?-100_5175.jpg  


Last edited by hammerlane; 12-13-2012 at 09:14 AM.
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 06:26 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

furnace run time ?


Also here is a thread I did last year about The Natural Gas Cost For Furnace 1 Hour Run Time


Natural Gas Cost For Furnace 1 Hour Run Time
hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 08:22 AM   #6
Member
 
SuperJETT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Loo-uh-vul, KY
Posts: 195
Default

furnace run time ?


I've been interested in this only because I'm datalogging our thermostat in mysql and have the numbers to mess around with. I'm trying to come up with a baseline number so I can compare before/after changes like attic insulation, new windows, etc that we plan on doing but in the end, there are just too many variables.

Sunlight hours, wind, whether we're home or out or in/out a lot, etc. We've had a few days lately where we've had over 6 hours runtime in a day, so that's 15 minutes out of each hour, but one hour solid has been getting the house back up to temperature in the morning from setback.

In the end, I just accept it for what it is, and make longterm decisions on how to improve things.
SuperJETT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 08:33 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,506
Default

furnace run time ?


thanx for the replies.

the reason i am asking, is that i think my furnace is running too much. its on 20mins and off about 35. this is at 30deg outside temp on a non windy day.
my gas bill was $110 for nov, and the furnace is not old. i asked a coworker, and his was $65, and he has 3 more people in the house. but i do know that his newer house is much better built and insulated than mine currently is. and it is not even really cold out yet. btw, we like it at 72 in here and do not touch the stat.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 08:39 PM   #8
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

furnace run time ?


Fix'n it...does the local utility offer energy audits free of charge? May be worth your while to look into that.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 08:46 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,506
Default

furnace run time ?


idk. i will ask them.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 08:54 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,506
Default

furnace run time ?


http://www.nicorgasrebates.com/index.php/programs/hes

i think the only way this would be worth it, was if they used a thermal imager. AND gave ME the results.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 08:57 PM   #11
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

furnace run time ?


Did you take the survey on that link?
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2012, 09:38 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,506
Default

furnace run time ?


what survey ?

did i sign up, no way.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-14-2012, 08:36 AM   #13
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Default

furnace run time ?


I was referring to the "pre-assessment evaluation"
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 09:11 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: far sw sub chicago
Posts: 3,506
Default

furnace run time ?


i put a known good/accurate thermometer on a stick hanging out in open air. i am dealing with a 4 deg temp swing. 70 on, 74 off. i think i need more attic insulation and more air sealing.
Fix'n it is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2012, 12:43 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,546
Default

furnace run time ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Fix'n it View Post
i put a known good/accurate thermometer on a stick hanging out in open air. i am dealing with a 4 deg temp swing. 70 on, 74 off.
Hanging out where in open air?

What does 70 on, 74 off mean?

hammerlane is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bryant 394J Furnace - Pilot stays ON all the time Davexxx HVAC 17 04-08-2012 06:46 PM
Moving furnace & redoing ducting cbrc5eric HVAC 0 02-09-2012 08:13 AM
Furnace fan won't switch on--unpredictable intermittent problem arvonon HVAC 3 01-22-2012 04:46 PM
first time startup on Bryant furnace - furnace calls for heat and will not stop luvheat HVAC 22 02-14-2009 08:56 AM
Problem with Trane gas furnace quovadis HVAC 17 12-22-2008 01:12 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.