Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-07-2012, 08:37 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 586
Default

Furnace Replacement


OK as a novice, I believe years ago much like water heaters, you were told that there were only "x" number of furnace makers for all.

I believe that in this day and age, this has probably changed or was just a line. So in preparation for a sales pitch, what furnace makes should we stay away from? Which to go with?

We dont need one with a lot of bells and whistles. Here are what we know we need:

4 ton ac 1600 CFM support
High 90's efficient
Heating: Replace 80% 60k/48k out

Got one bid for a Goodman GMH950704CX, thoughts on Goodman if you can?


Dont really want one that has a "constant fan" or always on low fan.

Thanks for thoughts.


Last edited by digitalplumber; 08-07-2012 at 08:39 AM.
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 09:07 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Augusta, GA
Posts: 369
Rewards Points: 250
Default

Furnace Replacement


First and foremost: The most important part of this equation is the quality of the installation, which is directly related to the quality of the contractor. Do your homework, ask around to friends/neighbors/co-workers for recommendations of contractors, etc etc. Don't shop based solely on price - the cheapest install is rarely the best. Find out as much as you can about the contractors, find someone you feel you can trust, and deal with them.

I am not big fan of Goodman but I've rarely had troubles with their standalone furnaces. IMO Trane/American Standard are the best products on the market today, but of course that's just my own personal opinion and is not shared by everyone.

Quote:
Dont really want one that has a "constant fan" or always on low fan.
No furnace defaults to a constant on fan system. That's controlled by the stat, or in some cases by conditions present in the furnace - e.g. a faulty limit can sometimes cause the fan to run all the time, to alert the homeowner of the condition.

scottmcd9999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 03:52 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 586
Default

Furnace Replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by scottmcd9999 View Post
First and foremost: The most important part of this equation is the quality of the installation, which is directly related to the quality of the contractor. Do your homework, ask around to friends/neighbors/co-workers for recommendations of contractors, etc etc. Don't shop based solely on price - the cheapest install is rarely the best. Find out as much as you can about the contractors, find someone you feel you can trust, and deal with them.

I am not big fan of Goodman but I've rarely had troubles with their standalone furnaces. IMO Trane/American Standard are the best products on the market today, but of course that's just my own personal opinion and is not shared by everyone.

Thanks I understand what you are saying, but finding a very good tech is hard to do.

Not sure I agree with having a very good tech install inferior equipment correctly?




No furnace defaults to a constant on fan system. That's controlled by the stat, or in some cases by conditions present in the furnace - e.g. a faulty limit can sometimes cause the fan to run all the time, to alert the homeowner of the condition.
Thought I read some specs on a Goodman that had an always on low fan, in heat mode I believe? Could be wrong.

Thanks for your answer.
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:14 PM   #4
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,554
Rewards Points: 2,788
Default

Furnace Replacement


Well, if your current 48,000 BTU output furnace is heating your house ok, then you might want to consider a 2 stage furnace. Since a 70,000 BTU 95% efficient furnace will be 66,500 BTUs output. And tend to short cycle, and not really save you any money on the heating bill.

As said earlier, the fan is not constantly on on a furnace, unless the stat is set for it.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:17 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 586
Default

Furnace Replacement


"Low constant fan mode allows the homeowner to activate the lowest available heating speed to circulate air quietly and efficiently throughout the home during the off cycle"

????????????????????
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:23 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,554
Rewards Points: 2,788
Default

Furnace Replacement


Key phrase. Allows the home owner to "activate". If you don't "activate" it, then the blower won' run constantly.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:24 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 586
Default

Furnace Replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Key phrase. Allows the home owner to "activate". If you don't "activate" it, then the blower won' run constantly.

Yep, apparently its within the unit itself and not at the thermostat.

Thanks
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:28 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 586
Default

Furnace Replacement


[quote=beenthere;983648]Well, if your current 48,000 BTU output furnace is heating your house ok, then you might want to consider a 2 stage furnace. Since a 70,000 BTU 95% efficient furnace will be 66,500 BTUs output. And tend to short cycle, and not really save you any money on the heating bill.



Yep, any suggestions? is 70K going to be the lowest with 1600?
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:32 PM   #9
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,554
Rewards Points: 2,788
Default

Furnace Replacement


ya, not going to find anything smaller with a 4 ton blower. Goodman has a 2 stage 70,000 BTU furnace. But stay away from their GMH 2 stage furnace. It times to second stage.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:36 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 586
Default

Furnace Replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
ya, not going to find anything smaller with a 4 ton blower. Goodman has a 2 stage 70,000 BTU furnace. But stay away from their GMH 2 stage furnace. It times to second stage.

Thanks, yes I had read that, that the goodmans were not a "true" 2 stage.

Thanks for all of your input!
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:39 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,554
Rewards Points: 2,788
Default

Furnace Replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalplumber View Post
Thanks, yes I had read that, that the goodmans were not a "true" 2 stage.

Thanks for all of your input!
Its still a "true" 2 stage. Its comfort ability is just crippled. Its Goodman's answer to price on 2 stage furnaces.

Goodman's GMV/GMVC is a good choice, and has a VS blower.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 04:44 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Houston Texas
Posts: 1,124
Rewards Points: 586
Default

Furnace Replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
Its still a "true" 2 stage. Its comfort ability is just crippled. Its Goodman's answer to price on 2 stage furnaces.

Goodman's GMV/GMVC is a good choice, and has a VS blower.

Thanks for all of your advice on this.
digitalplumber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 05:41 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Furnace Replacement


One more piece of advice...if you get the goodman purchase the extended labor warranty. It's cheap and will pay for itself the first time it breaks down.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2012, 06:22 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,437
Rewards Points: 2,188
Default

Furnace Replacement


Quote:
Originally Posted by digitalplumber View Post
Yep, apparently its within the unit itself and not at the thermostat.

Thanks
we have armstrong units that can be set to fan on low continous duty...its done on the control board....as mentioned not by stat...

ben's plumbing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is my 27 year old furnace & A/C in need of replacement? Mr Blotto HVAC 20 11-13-2012 05:54 PM
Some questions regarding furnace replacement Allears HVAC 3 05-27-2012 02:26 AM
replacement part for Aire-flo furnace? BlueBSH HVAC 9 09-14-2010 08:41 AM
Furnace combustion chamber replacement tripower HVAC 2 10-21-2008 06:39 PM
Furnace Replacement Options? Genhawk21 HVAC 5 01-11-2008 09:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.