Furnace Problems - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-27-2013, 09:48 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace problems


ok so this damn furnace is giving me more problems. it is a goodman gmpn-120-5. at the begining of the winter the heat would not kick on and after alot of trouble shooting, and help from you guys i determined it was the board. replaced it and everything was good until a couple of weeks ago when the fan would keep kicking on and off,, it would do this for sometimes a half an hour but eventually kick on. i figured it was te run cap so i replace it on friday and everything was fine until just about 2 hours ago i realized it was getting cold in the house and went to check on the furnace and the blower fan starts, the igniter comes on, gas valve opens and ignites the burners, but the main fan never kicks on so the system shuts down and retries with the same results. the LED on the board never does flash with any error sequence, so what could be the problem this time?

Advertisement

Kissfan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:09 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

furnace problems


Check if board is sending 120 volts to blower.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 10:22 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace problems


which wire do i check? which speed does the fan run on for heat? there are 3 or 4 wires that run to the motor from the board. Blue, Black, Red, and the brown that runs from the cap
Kissfan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2013, 11:05 PM   #4
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,550
Rewards Points: 616
Default

furnace problems


The board itself is usually marked with "Heat" which would be the terminal to test for the 120V to the fan but the fact that the board led is not showing a limit code is odd.
I would jumper the R & W stat connection points inside the furnace (with the stat lines removed) to eliminate a stat circuit problem.
And I'd be checking that all the ground wires within the furnace are tightly connected.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:08 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace problems


ok so i didnt get a chance to mess with this last night, so i just went down to see if the board was sending 120 to the fan, and it did and the fan started right up. i think i found what is causing the problem. there is water running down and dripping on the control board. i will do my best to describe where the water is coming from. if you are looking at the furnace there is the small blower fan that connects to the pvc pipe that runs outside. that blower is connected to a black cover the width of the furnace, and roughly 8" tall, this cover has screws all the way around it i am guessing to allow replacement. the water is coming out at the bottom of it.
Kissfan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:13 PM   #6
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

furnace problems


Its cracked, or the screws are loose.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:17 PM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 18
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace problems


i guess what i am asking is where is the water originating from? is this normal?
Kissfan4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 08:48 PM   #8
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

furnace problems


Condensing furnace. thats the collector box. Normal for water to be in it and then drain out the hose.
beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 10:17 PM   #9
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,669
Rewards Points: 2,096
Default

furnace problems


Your drainage is clogged. Kill Power. Remove trap, clean in sink with bleach and warm soapy water. Rinse thoroughly. Also clean all hoses in the same way. Mold builds up in condensate lines, Also check your intake and exhaust lines and make sure they are clear. Usually 3 inch PVC in HE condensing furnaces. When you put the trap back, prime it before connecting hoses.

Good luck.

Advertisement

__________________
" A lot of men build things, and a lot of things fall down "

jagans is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
home gas furnace problems debd Electrical 9 12-21-2012 05:35 PM
Furnace problems.... strosek HVAC 8 09-17-2012 10:47 PM
Old A/c unit tied into new furnace...any problems? hellothere123 HVAC 11 06-20-2011 05:06 AM
Furnace and air vent problems dsd HVAC 3 06-15-2010 08:28 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 02:55 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts