Furnace Problem. Need Your Help! - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-05-2010, 07:00 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace problem. need your help!


Ive got a Clare Brothers natural gas furnace model HEG100B with a white Rodgers HSI model 50E47-150 with a Hunter 5+2 programmable thermostat. here is my problem, every once in a while the furnace will not turn on. this has been going on for the last two yrs or so, it started as a very rare occurrence, once every moth or so, so i just dealt with it then last yr the ignitor then out so i replaced it, now this yr it is happening more and more frequently, some time it will go no problems for 3 weeks other time it will need reset (I just flip the power switch on the side of the furnace) after 2hrs! (its weird that how often I need to reset it depends on the temp, above 35 need to reset it more often sometimes twice the same day! below 35 it will run for weeks) then it just quit working this weekend, so I watched a cycle and it was a bad flame sensor So after searching the forums I followed some advice to try and clean the senor, no luck, so I just bought a new one. I was so happy to find that it was just a bad flame sensor and thinking all the resetting Ive had to do was from this bad flame sensor, but no the new sensor is installed works great, but it STILL will randomly just not turn on. I look at the WR HSI control box before I reset it to see if it has any lights flashing, but nothing! what should I check next?

Advertisement


Last edited by clapper33; 12-05-2010 at 07:03 PM.
clapper33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:06 PM   #2
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,370
Rewards Points: 1,104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Furnace problem. need your help!


inducer motor..... if it doesn't start or make the press switch close then the ignitor wont start

Advertisement

__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:18 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace problem. need your help!


whats the best way to check it?? I hear it running right now and I tried to see it not start thinking the same thing but every time i sit there and watch it it never falts. it is usually in the morning when i have to reset it. I do have the thermostat drop to 65 at night then back to 68 in the morning, could it be a bad thermostat?
clapper33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:21 PM   #4
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,370
Rewards Points: 1,104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Furnace problem. need your help!


could be, when it does not start do any motors start or anything like that, or is nothing at all working
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:36 PM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace problem. need your help!


not sure everytime it starts i wait and see it I can catch it fail but it always works
clapper33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:39 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace problem. need your help!


I usually wake to a cold house and have to flip the switch on the furnace, I tried to turn the thermostat off then on but nothing, Ive always have to turn the switch off then on at the furnace
clapper33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:46 PM   #7
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,370
Rewards Points: 1,104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Furnace problem. need your help!


when you wake to a cold house, what state is the furnace in, any motors working or anything like that?
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:49 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace problem. need your help!


OK! sitting here typing my reply I heard the thermostat "click" (relay maybe?) to tell the furnace to start but it didnt start! after that "click" the furnace usually starts in about 30 sec. or so but after 5min i realized its not gonna start and flipped the switch off then back on, 20 sec. later the furnace starts!
clapper33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:50 PM   #9
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,370
Rewards Points: 1,104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Furnace problem. need your help!


if you find the furnace not operating ..... QUIT SHUTTING THE POWER OFF AND BACK ON SO THAT YOU CAN TROUBLE SHOOT IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:51 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace problem. need your help!


no motor are ever running
clapper33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:51 PM   #11
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,370
Rewards Points: 1,104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Furnace problem. need your help!


you would want to check for 24v between w and c to see if the t-stat is at fault, this is your starting point when it is not working
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:52 PM   #12
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,370
Rewards Points: 1,104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Furnace problem. need your help!


take a picture and post it of the front of your furnace with the door off.

they don't make parts for clare brothers furnaces anymore, you'll be luck to find a part in a warehouse somewhere, ICP distributors would be the one to check if you needed a part, but not many available per my ICP rep
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:53 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 11
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace problem. need your help!


ok, after the thermostat tell the furnace to begin its cycle and the furnace does nothing at all what should I check?
clapper33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 07:55 PM   #14
AKA HVACTECHFW
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: NE Indiana
Posts: 2,370
Rewards Points: 1,104
Blog Entries: 1
Default

Furnace problem. need your help!


start with 24v between w and c if that is good, then go to 120v @ induced draft motor (assuming you have one)
__________________
IT IS WHAT IT IS
hvactech126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2010, 08:05 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Near Philly
Posts: 2,051
Rewards Points: 1,022
Default

Furnace problem. need your help!


"...start with 24v between w and c..."
Is that ac or dc? I assume ac.

Advertisement

bob22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 08:01 PM
Help troubleshooting furnace problem robert_ HVAC 21 02-15-2012 09:04 AM
Old Silver-Line furnace problem avro1 HVAC 9 03-18-2010 01:01 AM
problem with Furnace staying on. rdavis HVAC 4 12-01-2009 10:19 PM
Help - Problem with Oil Fired Forced Air Furnace JohnF HVAC 13 01-31-2009 10:04 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts