Furnace Problem - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-12-2008, 11:52 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Question

Furnace problem


My ComfortMaker furnace has 4 burners. The end one is where the flame sensor is. When the furnace starts 3 of the burners have a nice blue flame but the 4th one (where the sensor is) has no flame at all. So gas is getting to the burners but the end one has no gas going to it. How do I fix this problem? Can I take out the burner assembly and clean it? How do I do that? Thank you.
Louie

Advertisement


Last edited by Louis Tafoya; 10-12-2008 at 11:59 PM.
Louis Tafoya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 09:10 AM   #2
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Furnace problem


they should all come out seperate with the header staying in place from the gas valve.push the burner foward and lift it on the header there should be a brass fitting which is the orifice for that chamber burner.you have 4 burners each has an orifice to feed the gas into the burner runout.probably a bug fell asleep in there they like the scent of nat.gas...take a small adjustable wrench or a box end,and remove the orifice....... lefty losey........righty tighty.normal piping threads put the wrench on it "bump it" and finger loosen it out.watch the air inlet adjuster(where the orifice sticks into) when you grab the burner to pop it out it might not be screwed down,and moves adjust it as others on reinstall...with flames running

Advertisement

biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 02:14 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace problem


I took out the orifice and sure enough it was plugged. Not a spider but just junk. Cleaned it and it is now working like it should. Thank you so much for your help! It is so great to not have to call a service repairman for such a minor and easy fix. You saved me at least $80, thanks again.
Louis Tafoya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 06:00 PM   #4
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,630
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Furnace problem


thats cool...keep an eye on the other burners see if the others start to move around.the actual burner flame is the heat rating of your furnace so the true'r they burn (4 jets)the better heating you will achive.
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 08:01 PM
Problem with Rheem Criterion Furnace sweetsue777 HVAC 3 03-10-2012 12:13 PM
New High Efficiency Furnace Problem Buster 567 HVAC 8 12-13-2010 09:36 PM
oil furnace problem Dave80 HVAC 1 01-24-2008 08:53 AM
furnace problem captjack HVAC 8 11-23-2007 12:15 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts