Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-17-2011, 01:24 PM   #16
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Share |
Default

Furnace pressure switch issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by Houston204 View Post
As Ace has already posted a manometer reading of the vacuum at the preasure switch should be taken.

Average readings for the 58PAV run between -.66"wc and -.33"wc. with the inducer running.
A vacuum should not be present when the inducer is not running.
This all makes sense now......the switch is closed on a call for heat.......causeing the fault.......the 6 million dollar question now is, how in the heck do you fix it?

harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 01:51 PM   #17
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: San Antonio
Posts: 385
Default

Furnace pressure switch issue


interesting, i guess engineers made the assumption that there would never be enough draft to trip the switch without the inducer running.
NitroNate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 02:31 PM   #18
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Default

Furnace pressure switch issue


The only answer that comes to mind is an adjustable pressure switch.
The vacuum would still increase when the inducer turns on.

This would be an alarming solution. UL listing and insurance issues come to mind with this solution.

The 58PAV has not been manufactured for about a decade, what condition has changed to create this problem now?
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 02:34 PM   #19
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 12
Default

Furnace pressure switch issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by Houston204 View Post
The only answer that comes to mind is an adjustable pressure switch.
The vacuum would still increase when the inducer turns on.

This would be an alarming solution. UL listing and insurance issues come to mind with this solution.

The 58PAV has not been manufactured for about a decade, what condition has changed to create this problem now?
exactly what I was wondering. The building is 10 years old.

I went on the roof and noticed 2 tops had blown off other peoples vent, but mine was still attached. On my stack someone has run a cable from their satallite dish down it, would this cause an issue? It looks like the dish has been there awhile.
darylzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 02:36 PM   #20
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 12
Default

Furnace pressure switch issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
OHHHHHHHHHHHHHH now i see what you dealing with if the building is using a booster exhaust hood for the flue riser that drafting thru the units in the builing are sucking air..causing the motors to spin and causing the PSI control to close before the stat calls to actually run the ID...check with your neighbors.if it is just a common draft riser with no fan booster pulling thru the condo furnaces somebody needs to be experiencing your situation also...if they have units the same with the Induced draft motor design...they might just have staic flue piping going into that riser....
I don't know if they are for sure, I was on the roof and there was just a cover on the stack, so I don't know if the booster is somewhere else if there is one.
darylzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 02:45 PM   #21
Member
 
Houston204's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 586
Default

Furnace pressure switch issue


A manometer reading at the pressure switch would be a good test.

Does the inducer still spin when you turn off 120 volt power to the furnace?
Houston204 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 05:33 PM   #22
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 12
Default

Furnace pressure switch issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by Houston204 View Post
A manometer reading at the pressure switch would be a good test.

Does the inducer still spin when you turn off 120 volt power to the furnace?
I don't believe so.
darylzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 06:40 PM   #23
Member
 
biggles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,621
Default

Furnace pressure switch issue


how are your doors especially if you crack your condo entrance one do you feel a draft at all.something is spinning that squirrel
biggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 06:51 PM   #24
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,489
Default

Furnace pressure switch issue


I took off the piping leading to the ceiling and turned on the system for a few seconds as that is what the guy told me to do to get anything stuck in there out. I didn't see anything.

If the apartment building power venting was responsible then wouldn't taking off the furnace vent pipe have allowed the furnace to fire up?
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 08:03 PM   #25
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 12
Default

Furnace pressure switch issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by biggles View Post
how are your doors especially if you crack your condo entrance one do you feel a draft at all.something is spinning that squirrel
You are going to laugh, but I have had a negative air machine going for the past week because I refinished my hardwood floors and the polyurethane smell is horrible. That is why I NEED heat to get the floors to cure fast! HOWEVER I did turn the machine off while testing the furnace.

I'm not sure if there is a draft when I crack the door, I think there is now with the negative air machine going.

Also, this the what my vent on the roof looks like, actually exactly. A couple other where blown off.

Last edited by darylzero; 11-17-2011 at 08:11 PM.
darylzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 07:00 PM   #26
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 12
Default

Furnace pressure switch issue


Ok so I got a new guy to come look at it and fixed it in like 5 minutes! He noticed the fan was always spinning really fast. I told him how a friend of mine who thought he could fix it told me to jump the two wires to the inducer fan with a paperclip, which ended up blowing up the paperclip and flipping the circuit breaker. He then tapped the circuit on the board with a screwdriver and BAM the furnace turns on. He said it fused it together in the board. So worked out great.
darylzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 07:04 PM   #27
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Default

Furnace pressure switch issue


Sorry, but that don't sound like its right.
harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2011, 09:32 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: winnipeg manitoba canada
Posts: 779
Default

Furnace pressure switch issue


I concure that sounds horribly wrong
carmon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2011, 06:52 PM   #29
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Chicago
Posts: 12
Default

Furnace pressure switch issue


Quote:
Originally Posted by harleyrider View Post
Sorry, but that don't sound like its right.
Yeah, I can see that, but it was right on. He tapped that black square circuit thing on the board and the fan immediately stopped spinning. It made perfect sense the way he explained it. ALso it's been working so...

Thanks for everyone's help

darylzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wiring in a 4-way Switch RickSene Electrical 5 04-09-2013 07:25 PM
Furnace Vacuum Pressure Switch Hose? biggles99 HVAC 5 03-23-2011 09:48 PM
pressure switch thumbkins HVAC 3 03-04-2011 06:17 PM
Furnace Pressure Switch bigmatt HVAC 10 09-03-2009 06:25 PM
Modification to an existing pump switch DRBLKJK Electrical 10 08-23-2009 03:06 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.