Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-04-2010, 12:15 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Share |
Default

Furnace plenum


We have been getting a tremendous amount of a very fine light beige colour dust all over the house...Does the plenum accumulate this dust and blow it through the ductwork? How do we stop this powdery dust...we've covered our floor and wall vents with filters and it still doesn't stop this annoying dust? Thanking you in advance for any help in this area!

Brian

Brian Wallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 12:19 PM   #2
Master General ReEngineer
 
Bondo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Chaumont River, Ny.
Posts: 3,670
Default

Furnace plenum


Ayuh,... There's usually a Filter on the inlet side,...
It's Supposed to stop the dust from even entering the system in the 1st place...

If the system hasn't been protected, Yes, it can load up with all sorts of Crap...
Getting it Cleaned, then keeping that way is probably where you're headed...

Bondo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 12:49 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Default

Furnace plenum


I change the inlet filter with a $10.00 one every two weeks...why so much dust?
Brian Wallace is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 12:56 PM   #4
30 year tech
 
hvac122's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Lincoln, Nebraska
Posts: 427
Default

Furnace plenum


If all those filters didn't stop the dust it is most likely not comming from the duct system. Dust could indicate the house being in a negitive pressure and it could be insulation comming from the attic. The way to stop this is to seal the house up better and mechanicaly bring in outside air as needed.
hvac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Water Inside/Around American Standard Furnace michrob HVAC 8 12-08-2011 03:51 PM
Old Return air plenum for new furnace? Chemist1961 HVAC 1 12-25-2008 10:20 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM
Attaching plenum to furnace. hartkem HVAC 6 11-10-2008 02:17 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.