Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 09-11-2007, 10:09 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 147
Share |
Default

Furnace pilot light


Im having a few problems with my furnace. When it tries to light it sounds like a bunch of ticking, almost like its little electric shocks trying to light it. At times it can do this for a minute and then the furnace just stops, guess it times out. Other times it lights after about 15 seconds, goes out, then lights again after a few more ticks.

I have a knob for the pilot, its only on or off, no push button with it. Im thinking its probably dirty. Any thoughts?
simonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 06:11 AM   #2
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Default

Furnace pilot light


Could be, you've checked to see that the gas is turned on to the furnace? If it is, sounds like you should contact a service person to come look at it.
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 06:58 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 147
Default

Furnace pilot light


Ya the gas is on, the furnace does work. Just when it tries to light itself, at times it has trouble. Im guessing its a pilot or thermocouple problem. Im thinking im going to try to remove it and clean it
simonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 07:10 AM   #4
Member
 
RippySkippy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Ames, Iowa
Posts: 1,233
Default

Furnace pilot light


It could be that the electronic igniter is failing. My parents have a furnace that has the same type of clicking, and it ends up being a faulty igniter, they now always have a spare on hand...some sort of design flaw.
RippySkippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2007, 07:38 AM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 147
Default

Furnace pilot light


Thanks for the quick replies RippySkippy. Im going to take a quick look at it tonight, try to save myself a few bucks. Ill clean the thermocoupler with a brissle brush and examine the spark area of the pilot. If that doesnt work ill see if i can get the part and replace it myself, its very accesible. Any tips before i tackle this?
simonb is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pilot Light Won't Stay Lit etiger1 HVAC 7 10-19-2009 07:09 PM
Furnace won't light Babybird HVAC 2 03-30-2007 09:48 AM
Can't Light Pilot rsteve12 HVAC 5 02-27-2006 08:35 AM
hot pilot light supply line dlkk HVAC 1 02-24-2006 05:45 PM
pilot light reignition on older williams model Unregistered HVAC 1 02-17-2004 09:26 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.