Furnace Only Works With Panel Off - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum
Advertisement


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-24-2015, 05:20 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Furnace Only Works With Panel Off


My 5-year old high-efficiency ICP furnace won't stay lit with the burner panel on.
With the panel on, I look through the little window, and the last burner (where the flame sensor is) flickers and then goes out after 30-60 seconds. The fan keeps going and it cycles through that way a few times. The LED code suggests "failure to ignite" (which I can see is not the case) or "flame sense lost", then eventually "soft lockout."
When I take the burner compartment panel off, everything works fine, but I'd rather not leave it like that, with an exposed flame.
Both the air filter and the flame sensor have been replaced recently. The furnace was doing this same thing a month ago, so I replaced those 2 items. I verified that all of the exhaust pipes that I can reach are clear. (We did recently have a large snow, but the last 2 days have been warm enough that a whole lot of that has melted, and the problem didn't start until this morning, 3 days after the big snow.) What ultimately seemed to work last month was opening more ducts/vents wider than I had them previously. It worked fine for a month, then started misbehaving again.
Please help! Thanks

Advertisement

cronos6939 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 05:36 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: MO
Posts: 179
Rewards Points: 289
Default

Furnace Only Works With Panel Off


Yes, don't run it with the burner box cover off. Do all the burners go off at once or just the last burner?

Advertisement

Bitters is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 05:48 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 4
Default

Furnace Only Works With Panel Off


The 4th/last burner sputters and goes out. Since thats where a flame sensor is, the others go out a moment later.
cronos6939 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 06:03 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Toronto ON
Posts: 633
Rewards Points: 568
Default

Furnace Only Works With Panel Off


Clean out burners/orifices and try again. That flickering burner may not be getting enough gas.

Also when you say the fan keeps running do you mean the ID fan or the forced air blower?
techpappy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 06:04 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: MO
Posts: 179
Rewards Points: 289
Default

Furnace Only Works With Panel Off


OK, sounds like the gas pressure is low. Or the manifold is dirty.
Bitters is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2015, 06:26 PM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,685
Rewards Points: 2,008
Default

Furnace Only Works With Panel Off


The intake pipe outside may have sucked in snow or the exhaust gas recirculated back into it. Taking the cover off gives it more combustion air. Take a shop vac that can blow air and stick it on the intake pipe outside and turn it on and see if air blows into the furnace. You may have to use a heat gun or hair dryer and blow heat in to defrost it. A leaf blower also works. Same thing can happen to the exhaust but it is less likely as it is warm and pushing out not sucking in like the intake.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to yuri For This Useful Post:
ben's plumbing (02-24-2015)
Reply

Tags
cover , flame , flame sensor , furnace


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Furnace only works when raining mikethe ductman HVAC 9 11-24-2014 08:45 PM
Section 310.15(B)(6) vs. 210.4. Don't assume, call your friendly AHJs! Daneel Electrical 3 04-11-2012 08:24 AM
new sub panel BlueBSH Electrical 11 01-22-2012 09:28 AM
Multiple Panel Question theatretch85 Electrical 5 12-12-2009 06:26 AM
Furnace only works with door off CWinGA HVAC 3 12-05-2009 05:36 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts