Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-05-2009, 12:49 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Share |
Question

Furnace only works with door off


I have a Governaire standard efficiency furnace. The furnace has been cycling every three minutes or so. I noticed that the furnace runs fine with the burner access door off. If i slowly start to put it back on, I can feel a lot of suction and I can see the flame blow out. It seems like the sensors and switches work okay and the furnace is shutting down (correctly) because the flame sensor cannot detect a flame.

Any ideas about what the problem is and how to fix it? Any help is greatly appreciated.

BERVIN 306 - I think you are on the right track. There is no intake pipe. The furnace is in a crawlspace and there is plenty of ventilation, but I think there may be a restriction in the flue causing a pressure drop. I think the inducer fan can produce enough static pressure to overcome the restriction, but not with extra restriction of the access door.

Last edited by CWinGA; 12-05-2009 at 07:03 PM.
CWinGA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 01:28 PM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: South East U. S.
Posts: 3
Default

Furnace only works with door off


Without looking at it I can't be positive, but anyway you look at it you probably need a professional. If the flame is being Blown out by the blower coming on you might have a cracked heat exchange. This is very dangerous. Meaning turn it off until it's repaired. Another possibility could be a partially clogged flue. First thing I would do is check your filter. Next I would call a Pro.

Last edited by mercdady; 12-05-2009 at 01:52 PM.
mercdady is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 03:23 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 2,362
Default

Furnace only works with door off


Sounds like a crack has turned into a massive hole. Shut it off and call a pro.
Marty S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 04:36 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 37
Default

Furnace only works with door off


Your fresh air intake pipe is most likly clogged. You need air to make fire. That's why it works with the door off. Check your intake pipe there should be a screen right before it goes into the burner box, see if you see any leaves. Also check the outside make sure it is clear. if all else fails blow out the pipe.
bervin306 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cycling, draft, furnace


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
Furnace air filtration advice stephen_smith HVAC 7 12-24-2010 02:24 AM
Pilot Light works once, then have to re-light after furnace goes off aransas42 HVAC 8 09-30-2009 07:49 AM
Problems with new furnace..Overheating, having to reset. Furnace too big? Tommy2 HVAC 41 12-01-2008 01:55 PM
New Cased Coil - Install to Furnace - PICTURES!! hartkem HVAC 39 11-18-2008 01:45 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.