Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-10-2007, 10:05 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace not working


Its a luxaire 94 % efficient

This is the first time i tried to turn the heat on since last year. I did use the AC this summer though. about 2 months ago my thermostatwent out and i replaced it with a programmable unit. maybe that is causing the problem mabe not

at first i fired it up it kicked the fan on and burner on and raise temp in house by 2 degreess then it kicked off and blinked out the high pressure code. i took off the hoses going to the pressure switch and blew through them but that didnt fix it. Now i turn it on and the blower kicks on about 15seconds later the burners will fire and stay of for about 12 seconds before they kick off. then about 20-30 seconds later they will kick back on. they do this several times. Then the blower will stay on and the burners will stop firing. It blinks out a ignition lockout due to recycle. Im lost

Pkease help gf is cold and wont let me sleep

ShaftSlinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2007, 11:01 PM   #2
retired
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Idaho
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 75
Default

furnace not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by ShaftSlinger View Post
Pkease help gf is cold and wont let me sleep
How can you even think of not calling in a furnace man to fix it? Man, you must be young and don't understand women yet!

You could have a failed combustion air fan, or maybe birds or mice have built a nest in the vent pipe. Or who knows what? Get someone in who has the tools and knowledge to check it out properly. It's probably time to have it cleaned anyway, so you'll get double value out of his visit.

dmaceld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 10:02 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace not working


also forgot to mention that the furnace is only 15 months old. The exhaust was PVC installed when the thing went in. I dunno what the warranty is on this piece.
ShaftSlinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2007, 10:29 AM   #4
retired
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Idaho
Posts: 108
Rewards Points: 75
Default

furnace not working


Check out the warranty route for sure. It should be a lot longer than 15 months, at least for parts.
dmaceld is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2007, 07:16 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace not working


Quote:
Originally Posted by dmaceld View Post
Check out the warranty route for sure. It should be a lot longer than 15 months, at least for parts.

Got it fixed. THe bushes out by the vent were too close to the exhaust port and it was tripping it because of that. They had to be a good 6-10 inches away but apparently thats not enough. Works now. 70$ lesson
ShaftSlinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 08:01 PM
Furnace not firing jax HVAC 5 02-22-2009 01:41 PM
Replacing My Furnace, few simple questions compression HVAC 10 02-03-2007 06:00 PM
Furnace stops working once a day - help Da_Bears HVAC 2 01-26-2006 02:19 PM
Furnace not working right TheBillman HVAC 2 11-20-2005 06:31 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.