Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-26-2011, 10:57 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Share |
Default

Furnace not producing heat


woke up this morning to the furnace (american standard freedom 90 comfort-r) not producing heat. red light on board blinks twice, three times in a row upon starting up. the green light then blinks quickly (call for heat I am guessing). I can hear it get ready to start the heat coils but nothing, just recycles itself and tries again. Any ideas on how to fix the issues and restore heat to the house, besides calling a HVAC tech to come out and service the unit??

mmmgoodness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 10:59 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 804
Default

Furnace not producing heat


can you look at the legend on the furnace door and tell us what the code your getting relates to please?

harleyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 11:11 AM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Furnace not producing heat


according to the installers guide, two flashing red lights on the board is system lockout (retries or recycles exceeded). I have powered the off and back on a couple of times using the switch inside the top panel (also reset the breaker as well). in the user manual, it gives some troubleshooting steps when there is no heat but the vent motor is running. it talks about cleaning condensate trap and drain pan outlet but i am not for sure where those are.
mmmgoodness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 11:21 AM   #4
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,394
Default

Furnace not producing heat


check the intake and exhaust plastic pipes outside for blockage.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 11:24 AM   #5
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Furnace not producing heat


would those be the PVC pipes that are coming out of the top of the furnace??
mmmgoodness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 11:29 AM   #6
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,394
Default

Furnace not producing heat


yep. they also go outside so follow them there. stick your fingers in the openings and check for debris.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 11:48 AM   #7
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Furnace not producing heat


checked the intake and exhaust plastic pipes outside and found no blockage (they have a cover on them so I removed cover and stuck my hand in there as far as it would go). what would be the next step in troubleshooting??
mmmgoodness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 12:12 PM   #8
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,394
Default

Furnace not producing heat


it should give U an error code when it fails. may take a couple of attempts B4 it locks out. monitor it when it is trying to start and gets us that code. check the drain line to the floor drain if you have one to see if it is blocked.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 12:31 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Furnace not producing heat


will go restart and give you the error code momentarily.....the drain line to the floor comes out of the humidifier, is that the drain line you are referring to??
mmmgoodness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 12:43 PM   #10
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Furnace not producing heat


restarted unit......lie i said before, the red light blinked twice, (now) four times in a row. the green light begins to blink pretty fast until the heat fails to turn on. The red light would then blink one time for every nine times the green light would blink. it cycles through that same scenario four times until i finally get system lockout. The vent fan turns on and begins to blow cold air (all the while the red light is blinking two blinks at a time)....
mmmgoodness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 12:48 PM   #11
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 9,394
Default

Furnace not producing heat


w/o the error code legend in front of me I cannot tell U what is going on. usually if you read it slowly and carefully it will tell you what the message is. code should be on the back of one of the doors or in the owners/install manual or by the wiring diagram on one of the doors, may have to remove the lower door and look inside. post some pics of the furnace with both doors off also.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 01:04 PM   #12
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Furnace not producing heat


here are the pics......I found the info inside the panel doors, however nothing specifies one blinking light (it starts at two and goes to six)
Attached Thumbnails
Furnace not producing heat-furnace1.jpg   Furnace not producing heat-furnace2.jpg   Furnace not producing heat-furnace3.jpg  
mmmgoodness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 01:05 PM   #13
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Furnace not producing heat


hopefully they are not too blurry.....if they are, I can take some others
mmmgoodness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 01:33 PM   #14
as seen on tv
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 205
Default

Furnace not producing heat


You may need to have a service man check this out for you. That unit uses a 80v ignitor that varies the voltage after each ignition. allong with a simulated three phase inducer. They can be a nightmare with bad grounding. You may be able to make it fire by removing tstat wires and and jumping r-w.
qbert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2011, 01:38 PM   #15
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 10
Default

Furnace not producing heat


so, just to verify..........removing the thermostat wires in the furnace and then touching the red and white wires together could make the ignitor fire and potentially start the heat??

mmmgoodness is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lennox Furnace G27M Series Unreliable operation: pressure switch or else? sheppard1977 HVAC 7 01-14-2013 05:42 PM
furnace not putting out heat nilmerf HVAC 3 12-03-2011 07:59 PM
Upgrades for my old electric furnace? alochin HVAC 6 09-11-2011 06:09 PM
Leaking Heat Exchanger in Furnace - Heat On Brentimus HVAC 1 03-19-2011 09:42 PM
Using Gas heat during Defrost mgroves HVAC 15 12-18-2010 05:51 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.