Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Old 12-06-2011, 01:13 AM   #1

Share |

Furnace not lighting consistently

Hi all,

new homeowner and complete newbie when it comes to furnaces. My furnace (20 year old mid efficiency with a honeywell circuitboard) is failing to light and then all of a sudden will start working after some time. The blower fan stays on, pumping cool air. I checked the status lights and it says that the pattern means 2 things:

"Retry Delay - third failure to light on same call for heat. New trial for ignition after five minute delay." (makes sense, I hear a loud noise every five minutes when it is acting like this).

"Marginal flame signal - system may not operate reliably over time."

I am wondering if anyone here knows about these issues generally, whether they are generally a big deal or whether the can be dealt with easily through calling a service technician. The costs with this house are piling up...

Thanks all.

BeMurda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 01:25 AM   #2
how

Posting the brand and model of the furnace will result in less guessing from this end.

how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2011, 01:29 AM   #3

Duomatic Olsen HMS2-105H
Honeywell S8610U
Old 12-06-2011, 10:16 AM   #4
how

The most common fault that will cause your problem will be a dirty flame sensor which is a thin rod held in a porcelon base that sits in the furnace flame path. The first thing to try would be to clean the metal part of that flame sensor with a wire brush or steel wool.
Do this with the power off to the furnace. If this is beyond your comfort range then maybe you should ask your neighbours who they are happy with who services & repairs their furnaces
Old 12-06-2011, 01:00 PM   #5

See video for how's recommendation.

Check batteries (if any) in thermostat).

Check for obstruction in discharge to outdoors.