Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2006, 08:21 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace not igniting


Hi I have a ruud slohuette II gas furnace now the furnace stopped working last cold season, but since season was almost over I put it off. Now when I turn it on I hear the gas valve open I even smell gas, I dont see the ignitor spark so I think this is the problem. Any ideas on verifying this and how to replace this would be appreciated.

jjoossee25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 10:50 AM   #2
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace not igniting


Jose, I am not familiar with that furnace. You are expecting the igniter to "spark". The igniters that I have seen, do not spark but consist of a heating element which glows to the point of igniting the gas. Maybe that is what you mean by sparking.....

Your furnace likely has a "flame sensor" which would detect flame presence, or if flame (temperature) is not detected, the control board would shut the furnace down.

Anyway, the heating element igniter could be easily checked with a VOM for continuity. Sometimes one could see cracks which go thru the element surface, making it an open circuit. I have seen recomendations to avoid touching the heating element even when it is cold.

If the igniter shows continuity, then the control board is not providing juice to the igniter, which is also checked with a VOM. Just be aware of 110 volts present in the area that you would be working.

More likely than not, the igniter is open.....

For more troubleshooting please go to:

http://arnoldservice.com/Troubleshoo...g_Problems.htm

Good luck, Abel

Capaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 03:33 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace not igniting


thanks for that info I do see the flame sensor, now the reason I say spark is becaause The ignitor has 2 rods with a gap in between them I may be wrong Do I check the rod tip to wire coming out for continuity do I probe the wire
jjoossee25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2006, 06:01 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 14
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace not igniting


jjoossee25 vbmenu_register("postmenu_25835", true); , what I wrote above is for furnaces with heating elements as igniters. It is not aplicable to your furnace.

I don't know much about spark modules.

Sorry, good luck, Abel
Capaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 08:01 PM
Furnace not firing jax HVAC 5 02-22-2009 01:41 PM
Replacing My Furnace, few simple questions compression HVAC 10 02-03-2007 06:00 PM
Furnace does't start when Fan is 'auto' stepicz HVAC 2 10-18-2005 07:10 AM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.