Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-10-2012, 05:47 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Furnace not getting past 76 degrees


I have a rental house and the tenant is complaining the furnace isnt putting out enough heat. They keep the thermostat at 90 and it doesnt get hotter that 76. Which is of course out enough, but thats besides the point. Its almost like theres a governor on it that wont let it get past that. Is there a part that is bad?

klaus135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 06:04 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 25,922
Rewards Points: 3,514
Default

Furnace not getting past 76 degrees


Check air filter, it could be dirty. Also, if it has central A/C make sure the indoor coil is clean. the furnace could be tripping out on high limit. Its a safety device that prevents the furnace from over heating.

Might want to see what blower speed it is set to. if its not on high, switch it to high.

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to beenthere For This Useful Post:
klaus135 (12-10-2012)
Old 12-10-2012, 06:08 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,485
Rewards Points: 4,086
Default

Furnace not getting past 76 degrees


Unless there breding sheep in there, there's 0 reason the tempature needs to be any higher then 70. Most people this time of year keep it about 68 to save money.
Tell them to go pound sand.
Who's paying to the heating bill?
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (12-12-2012), jagans (12-10-2012), kt82 (12-12-2012)
Old 12-10-2012, 06:11 PM   #4
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,530
Rewards Points: 576
Default

Furnace not getting past 76 degrees


The only person I can think of that would try to get a home above 76 degrees is someone who isn't paying that heating bill. New tenants needed.
You sure about those temps?
how is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to how For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (12-12-2012)
Old 12-10-2012, 06:16 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Hartfield VA
Posts: 27,485
Rewards Points: 4,086
Default

Furnace not getting past 76 degrees


Sure there not trying to grow Pot in there?
joecaption is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to joecaption For This Useful Post:
gregzoll (12-12-2012), jagans (12-10-2012)
Old 12-10-2012, 06:19 PM   #6
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace not getting past 76 degrees


I agree why would they need to heat there house above 76?
Maybe they are leaving the windows open?
Does the furnace shut off at 76?
How old is the stat, is it a mercury switch? Maybe the stat is not level.

If I had a tenant that heated to 90 I would make sure the bill is in their name.

Not trying to belittle anyone, but if they can heat to 76 I see no reason to to have to make it warmer, unless they are very sick and need an incubator for a house..
oncall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 06:34 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Furnace not getting past 76 degrees


With the exception of "beenthere", you all missed my point. I do apprieciate the responses, however, I stated how hot they want it isnt the point. The point is, its not getting hotter. If the thermostat is set at 90 for a week, shouldnt it reach 90 inside the house? If I set my own thermostat at 90, I think it would get to 90 without shutting off. Or at least run continuesly as it would try to reach a higher temp. NOT that they want it at 90....but appearantly they want it hotter than 76. I am not paying the bill, they are not growing weed, they are afro-americans who do not like Chicago winters!
klaus135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 06:41 PM   #8
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 25
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace not getting past 76 degrees


Was anything done with the furnace?

1. was the furnace motor change ? It could be spinning backwards and/or not throwing that much air.
2. Was the anticipator ever checked or cycle setting depending on the stat, ever ajusted for your furnace.
3. If a mertcury style thermostat is it level.
4. Is the gas pressure on the manifold set correctly usually around 3.5"w.c. pressure

I would suugest you might need to call a HVAC guy he can check these things out.


These are some Ideas for you to check. Hope this helped.
oncall is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to oncall For This Useful Post:
klaus135 (12-10-2012)
Old 12-10-2012, 06:44 PM   #9
how
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Vancouver BC
Posts: 1,530
Rewards Points: 576
Default

Furnace not getting past 76 degrees


If you provided info like....
the main gas is cycling on and off with the blower running continuously but the temp won't rise above 76 then folks would suggest a temp rise test on your furnace. Is the limit control doing it's job or not? Dirty air filters or a/c coil? Thermostat continually calling for heat?
Distribution size too small? Furnace too big? Home insulation and type of windows? Etc.

Last edited by how; 12-10-2012 at 06:46 PM.
how is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 07:06 PM   #10
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,668
Rewards Points: 2,094
Default

Furnace not getting past 76 degrees


Are these new tennents that want it hotter than any of the previous tennants ever wanted it? Maybe the furnace you have has never been able to attain a temperature higher than 76. Does it turn off at 76? or did you mention that.
jagans is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 07:43 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Joliet, IL
Posts: 30
Rewards Points: 25
Default

Furnace not getting past 76 degrees


It's a digital thermostat. They were there last year. The one guy sleeps in the basement. But i looked at the furnace yesterday. It was set at 90 then just stops. It will restart, but stops again. Sometimes the blow is just on blowing air without the furnace kicking on. O changed the air filter....my furnace guy just looks at it and says It's fine.
klaus135 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 07:56 PM   #12
Member
 
Missouri Bound's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Almost Arkansas
Posts: 2,764
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Furnace not getting past 76 degrees


The furnace guy is wrong. I think the furnace needs a thorough examination, as already said by Beenthere. And get a new furnace guy.
__________________
Do you want it your way or the right way?
Missouri Bound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 08:58 PM   #13
Roofmaster
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,668
Rewards Points: 2,094
Default

Furnace not getting past 76 degrees


You did not mention whether there was an evaporator coil in the plenum above the heat exchanger for AC maybe it is filled with crud and the furnace is shutting down. Also, are they jacking the temperature up in an attempt to get some heat to the basement guy? Maybe cut a duct or two in down there for him? I would advise to have a good HVAC Tech give the furnace a really good cleaning, then go from there.
jagans is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2012, 08:58 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: pa
Posts: 4,509
Rewards Points: 2,332
Default

Furnace not getting past 76 degrees


did you try bypassing t stat...see if furnace continues to run with another thermometer to measure temperature..ben sr
ben's plumbing is online now   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to ben's plumbing For This Useful Post:
jagans (12-10-2012)
Old 12-10-2012, 09:26 PM   #15
HVAC Tech/Owner
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VA
Posts: 485
Rewards Points: 294
Default

Furnace not getting past 76 degrees


70 is standard design conditions for any heating system.

In the field, hooked to real ductwork, many furnaces are at their temperature rise limits at 70. try to go above 70 and now you are pushing the HI Temp limit and it starts cycling off.

What is the temperature rise of the furnace? You can't have a furnace raise temp to 90 because that will probably trip the limit.

Technow is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Natural Gas Cost For Furnace 1 Hour Run Time hammerlane HVAC 15 11-11-2013 11:34 AM
Condensation on fiberglass window frame creamaster General DIY Discussions 11 01-05-2012 08:42 PM
Furnace help...won't heat past 67 goodtimes HVAC 17 12-07-2011 04:53 AM
Moisture on windows baum Building & Construction 56 12-22-2009 06:39 PM
Sweating windows big daddy-o General DIY Discussions 15 01-06-2008 03:41 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.