Furnace Not Firing - HVAC - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2008, 06:07 PM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Rewards Points: 10
Default

furnace not firing


Hey maybe someone can help, I turned my heat on today and the fan runs but the furnace wont fire? Its a bryant plus 90 gas furnace if that helps at all...Thanks

Advertisement

johneboy209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2008, 06:11 PM   #2
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,540
Rewards Points: 4,718
Default

furnace not firing


Doesn't give enough info to tell anything.

Change your air filter, and turn the power off, and then on.

Advertisement

beenthere is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 09:09 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Rewards Points: 250
Default

furnace not firing


Yes we need more information such as when the tstat calls for heat what do you hear and see on the furnace, and what is the timing/sequence of events that is occurring? There is a draft inducer (small blower) that should be spinning, a heating surface igniter glowing, some relays clicking. If there is a sight glass peer in and tell us what you can see.
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 11:17 AM   #4
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

furnace not firing


Quote:
Originally Posted by dac122 View Post
Yes we need more information such as when the tstat calls for heat what do you hear and see on the furnace, and what is the timing/sequence of events that is occurring? There is a draft inducer (small blower) that should be spinning, a heating surface igniter glowing, some relays clicking. If there is a sight glass peer in and tell us what you can see.

DUDE? a Heating Surface Igniter? New one one on me.
__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 01:40 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 368
Rewards Points: 250
Default

furnace not firing


Quote:
Originally Posted by hvaclover View Post
DUDE? a Heating Surface Igniter? New one one on me.
Rog. That should have been HSI for Hot Surface Igniter. Damn keyboard.
dac122 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2008, 01:47 PM   #6
Member
 
hvaclover's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Suburbs of Detroit Mi
Posts: 3,704
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

furnace not firing


Quote:
Originally Posted by dac122 View Post
Rog. That should have been HSI for Hot Surface Igniter. Damn keyboard.

Somebody gave my computer ADA once

Advertisement

__________________
Just slow, not stupid.
hvaclover is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Heil Furnace Burner Problem timothyr HVAC 79 02-12-2014 08:01 PM
Furnace not firing jax HVAC 5 02-22-2009 01:41 PM
First Furnace Install - Need Some Help Getting Started hartkem HVAC 17 10-11-2008 12:55 PM
Add-on Wood furnace billmac HVAC 3 06-18-2008 10:17 PM
Replacing My Furnace, few simple questions compression HVAC 10 02-03-2007 06:00 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts