Furnace Not Blowing Hard - HVAC - Page 3 - DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-10-2010, 10:52 PM   #31
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


Quote:
Originally Posted by diyordie View Post
Well, I was just informed that a belt drive blower is generally set up to be single speed only so now I'm at a loss.
Not always the case sometime you have to look at the motour nameplate some case they will stated multi speed as well I know some belt drive motor will have mulit speed useage.

Of course the direct drive will have multi speed useage.

If you really need multi speed motour you can swap the motor and get one with higher RPM verison depending on the nameplate and use the adjustable pully to get the speed where you want it.

And some furnace they will have addtional relay to change the speed of blower as well.

Merci.
Marc

Advertisement

frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 08:06 AM   #32
fabrk8r
 
fabrk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


Did you check for proper rotation as was suggested in your other thread on this subject?
__________________
"The physician can bury his mistakes, but the architect can only advise his clients to plant vines." -- Frank Lloyd Wright
fabrk8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2010, 08:52 AM   #33
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: South of Boston, MA
Posts: 17,248
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


2 threads on same issue merged
Scuba_Dave is offline   Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Scuba_Dave For This Useful Post:
frenchelectrican (08-11-2010)
Old 08-17-2010, 03:34 PM   #34
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


@fabrK8r: I don't recall seeing any label about direction of rotation but I'll look again. I'm pretty sure the blower was going clockwise when I looked at it last but now I'm not so sure. If it is moving clockwise I'll try re-wiring to see if it makes an improvement. Now I'm kind of glad the furnace guy I called, who is a "good friend" of my mother-in-law, didn't return my call.

The motor only states 1725 rpm.

@frenchelectrician: I don't want to try a higher rpm motor than what is currently there for fear of damaging the bearings/belt/pulleys/etc. Is there any way to determine if the existing motor simply isn't operating at its design speed?

Please excuse the duplicate posts (HVAC and Electrical) but I wasn't sure where the problem truly was and I've recieved a lot of great feedback from both forums.

Thanks again for everyone's help.
diyordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 12:03 AM   #35
" Euro " electrician
 
frenchelectrican's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: WI & France { in France for now }
Posts: 5,369
Rewards Points: 2,000
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


Quote:
Originally Posted by diyordie View Post
@fabrK8r: I don't recall seeing any label about direction of rotation but I'll look again. I'm pretty sure the blower was going clockwise when I looked at it last but now I'm not so sure. If it is moving clockwise I'll try re-wiring to see if it makes an improvement. Now I'm kind of glad the furnace guy I called, who is a "good friend" of my mother-in-law, didn't return my call.

The motor only states 1725 rpm.

@frenchelectrician: I don't want to try a higher rpm motor than what is currently there for fear of damaging the bearings/belt/pulleys/etc. Is there any way to determine if the existing motor simply isn't operating at its design speed?

Please excuse the duplicate posts (HVAC and Electrical) but I wasn't sure where the problem truly was and I've recieved a lot of great feedback from both forums.

Thanks again for everyone's help.
Ok I can see what you mean and the motor is allready at 1725 then you can get adjustable pulley and can make it run little more faster IIRC the squrell cage blower can run little more faster but not a whole alot more without increasing the motor size that something you may have to watch on this one and one of the HVAC guys may confirm what my idea if so ., they will leave a instruction on that matter.

If you have adjustable pully then close up the gap a bit that will speed up a little more quicker but just watch the current drawage to make sure you are not excessing over what the motor nameplate stated { this item you may want to get clamp on ampmeter ask one of your freind or get one at big box store I do not know what the cost currentlly in USA due I am in France for quite a while }

Merci.
Marc
frenchelectrican is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 11:34 AM   #36
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


Quote:
Originally Posted by fabrk8r View Post
Did you check for proper rotation as was suggested in your other thread on this subject?
Well, I haven't had a chance to check the rotation yet but I am mildly optimistic that this could be the problem. I don't know the etiquette for posting links on this forum but here goes...http://www.nyb.com/rotation-discharge.asp. This is from a company called New York Blower. They make industrial fans for stuff like dust collectors, process dryers, etc.. The diagrams seem to confirm what the rotation direction should be for a blower and if mine is running clockwise from the view shown in my pics, it is running backwards.

My major concern is that the direction specification for my motor says "Selective CCW". I'm not sure what this means. Is the motor reversible or not? Here is the specificaiton sheet for my motor I found on the manufacturer's website. http://www.marathonelectric.com/MMPS...em=048S17D2086
There is a link to a PDF drawing and wiring diagram on this page which indicates which leads to switch to reverse the motor but the connection diagram doesn't explicity name my motor so I want to verify that it is reversible before attempting to rewire.
diyordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 01:08 PM   #37
I=E/R
 
a7ecorsair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 2,052
Rewards Points: 1,000
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


Looking at the picture in your earlier post, I'd say the squirrel cage fan should run clockwise as viewed in the picture and that would mean the motor would run CCW as viewed from the live shaft end.
a7ecorsair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 02:44 PM   #38
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


There should be instructions on your motor for which wires to change to switch rotation.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 02:48 PM   #39
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


Quote:
Originally Posted by beenthere View Post
By the pictures. Looking into the blower from the perspective of pic 2. The blower wheel should be spinning counter clockwise.
Quote:
Originally Posted by a7ecorsair View Post
Looking at the picture in your earlier post, I'd say the squirrel cage fan should run clockwise as viewed in the picture and that would mean the motor would run CCW as viewed from the live shaft end.
I'm getting conflicting info. Who's right?
diyordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 02:54 PM   #40
fabrk8r
 
fabrk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


Reverse the rotation and check the air flow. You'll know instantly if it's better. It'll take 5 minutes.

A squirrel cage running backwards produces about 25% of the air flow it should when turning the proper direction. Feel the air flow at the blower with your hand. Switch 2 wires on the motor, start it and see if you feel more air being pulled into the blower.

BTW...for safety's sake. Disconnect the power first...just sayin' (because I've heard some stories on here lately...LOL).
__________________
"The physician can bury his mistakes, but the architect can only advise his clients to plant vines." -- Frank Lloyd Wright

Last edited by fabrk8r; 08-18-2010 at 02:57 PM.
fabrk8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 02:54 PM   #41
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Rewards Points: 10
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


Quote:
Originally Posted by diyordie View Post
...http://www.nyb.com/rotation-discharge.asp. This is from a company called New York Blower. They make industrial fans for stuff like dust collectors, process dryers, etc.. The diagrams seem to confirm what the rotation direction should be for a blower and if mine is running clockwise from the view shown in my pics, it is running backwards.
I just realized my pictures from near the beginning of this thread don't really show the layout of the blower all that well. From the viewpoint of the pictures my blower looks like the "Bottom Horizontal"/"CCW" configuration shown in the New York Blower link above.
diyordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 02:55 PM   #42
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


Looking at the wheel from the pic you posted. The wheel should be spinning counter clock wise.
Look at the blowers in that link you posted. It shows the same thing I'm telling you.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 03:01 PM   #43
fabrk8r
 
fabrk8r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Iowa
Posts: 849
Rewards Points: 500
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


This is becoming a lot harder than it needs to be.
__________________
"The physician can bury his mistakes, but the architect can only advise his clients to plant vines." -- Frank Lloyd Wright
fabrk8r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 04:38 PM   #44
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 26,471
Rewards Points: 4,588
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


Quote:
Originally Posted by fabrk8r View Post
This is becoming a lot harder than it needs to be.
ts the internet. Of course it is.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2010, 05:03 PM   #45
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 10,098
Rewards Points: 834
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


Wait until we get a discussion on how to determine the rotation of a oil burner pump and describe it.

Advertisement

__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
yuri is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric furnace blowing breaker burnt03 HVAC 27 01-04-2011 09:50 PM
dayton furnace blowing cool air luckysc47 HVAC 2 12-05-2009 01:04 PM
Help! Furnace blowing cold air. Thanks. crosely HVAC 0 11-30-2009 11:17 AM
"Freedon 90" Furnace Blowing out Cold Air LAFAYETTEGIRL Introductions 0 11-27-2009 09:05 AM
Olsen BFL 120 Furnace DaleB HVAC 12 12-19-2008 11:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts