Forums | Home Repair | Home Improvement | Painting | Interior Decorating | Remodeling | Landscaping


Go Back   DIY Chatroom Home Improvement Forum > Home Improvement > HVAC

CLICK HERE AND JOIN OUR COMMUNITY TODAY...IT'S FREE!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 08-06-2010, 10:11 AM   #1
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Share |
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


I just moved into a new home this summer. The furnace is old but the air cond. is just 2 years old. The air blows cold but it barely trickles out of the vents. With such low volume of air blowing, the air cond. runs constantly and can't get the temperature down.

I pull the access panel off while the blower is running and it is spinning freely but not very fast. It is a belt drive and the belt appears to be in good condition.

I suspect the blower motor is on it's way out but I don't know much about them. Would a motor that is failing not be able to get up to speed or would it simply stop working? Can a faulty run capacitor cause this or is it most likely the motor itself?

Thanks in advance for any help.
diyordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 11:57 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Springfield OH
Posts: 764
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


Dirty filter? At least check the easy stuff first, I say.
oberkc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 12:19 PM   #3
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


New filter, no dampers, vents open, return air vents not blocked.
diyordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 12:46 PM   #4
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


I just moved into a new house and the motor for the blower seems to be running slow. It is a belt drive blower and the belt seems to be in good shape. Would an electric motor run slow if it's ready to fail or would a faulty run capacitor cause this?

Thanks for any help.
diyordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 10:17 PM   #5
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,487
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


Is the belt tight?
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2010, 10:44 PM   #6
Wire Chewer
 
Red Squirrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,189
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


Is it a multi speed blower? Maybe it's running low speed. I believe this makes it remove humidity better by keeping the system running more and cooling more slowly. I could be wrong though.
Red Squirrel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2010, 10:23 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 272
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


What is the "blower" are you talking about?
__________________
Willis
williswires is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 04:59 AM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,168
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


Belt drives are from the 50's .Time to upgrade to a SEER 13!
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 07:36 PM   #9
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


@ beenthere: The belt is snug but not overly tight. It isn't new but shows no signs of cracking.

@Red Squirrel: I don't think it is a multi-speed motor. It only gives 1 rpm rating of 1725.

Here are some pics of the blower/motor and some electrical component I originally thought was the run capacitor but now I'm not so sure. Does anyone know what it is and if it could be the reason the motor doesn't seem to want to get the blower up to speed?

Oops. Sorry. The blower for the furnace. I've checked all of what I think to be obvious culprits to making the vents not blow very hard (furnace filter, dampers, vent openings, loose/bad drive belt) and everything seems okay but the blower doesn't seem to be moving very fast. The only thing I could think of is that the motor could have gone bad and won't get up to speed. I also thought it might be a bad run capacitor but I don't see one. There is some component that I can't identify I thought might be the capacitor but I'm not sure. Here are some pics. Thanks for the feedback.

@bobelectric: Agreed, furnace needs replaced and any contributions toward the $5k to replace it will be greatly appreciated

Furnace Not Blowing Hard-overall.jpg

Furnace Not Blowing Hard-blower.jpg

Furnace Not Blowing Hard-capacitor.jpg
diyordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 08:05 PM   #10
Hvac Pro
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Winnipeg, Canada
Posts: 8,331
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


That is a transformer. Install a new belt as the old one could be glazed and slipping. Tighten it so that you can only press it down 1" (deflection) when pressing on the belt. For safety reasons you should get an experienced Pro to check the heat exchanger for cracks and gaskets etc and for proper combustion. CO poisoning is not a joke.
__________________
"Cut it twice and it is still too short".
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by yuri; 08-08-2010 at 08:10 PM.
yuri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 09:06 PM   #11
An old Tradesmen
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: PA
Posts: 23,487
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


Snug? How much deflectiojn?

Belts don't have to be cracked to be bad or slipping.

Check if the sheeves/pullys are shiny in the belt grooves. If so. Change the belt. A new belt is a small $ item.
beenthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 10:20 PM   #12
Member
 
lloydb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Tulsa
Posts: 102
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


Have you checked to make sure the evaporator isn't plugged? I've seen evaporators in older homes so dirty that cleaning them was like pulling a rug off a wall.
__________________
Broken Arrow hvac
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
lloydb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 04:17 AM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Eighty Four, Pa.15330
Posts: 1,168
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


Remove belt and run motor. It may need a good oil job and grease blower bearings. Winter's Coming!
bobelectric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 06:35 AM   #14
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 15
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


@Yuri: thanks, it must be one of the old style magnetic transformers. The belt has a little less than 1" deflection. The pulleys aren't shiny and the belt doesn't appear to be slipping. I'm not ruling it out a bad belt but I really don't want to just throw parts at it hoping I find the problem. This furnace is new to me but the blower doesn't seem to be running as fast as ones I've seen.
@lloydb: I haven't checked the evaporator coil. The whole AC system is 2 years old (the house didn't have AC prior) and I didn't think that could be a problem yet. I'll give it a look but do you think that could be the reason for the blower motor to run slow?

Good idea bobelectric. I'll give that a try tonight. I don't see any oil ports on the motor. What type of grease should I use for the bearings? All I have handy is marine grease. Would a multi-meter tell me anything about if the motor is running properly? Thanks for the help.
diyordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 06:54 AM   #15
A "Handy Husband"
 
rjniles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Carolina Low Country
Posts: 3,673
Default

Furnace Not Blowing Hard


Many of those motors have multiple taps to change the motor speed. The wiring would be under that cover on the side of the motor. There should be a information decal on the motor to give you the tap change info.
__________________
Location:
Coastal South Carolina
rjniles is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Electric furnace blowing breaker burnt03 HVAC 27 01-04-2011 08:50 PM
dayton furnace blowing cool air luckysc47 HVAC 2 12-05-2009 12:04 PM
Help! Furnace blowing cold air. Thanks. crosely HVAC 0 11-30-2009 10:17 AM
"Freedon 90" Furnace Blowing out Cold Air LAFAYETTEGIRL Introductions 0 11-27-2009 08:05 AM
Olsen BFL 120 Furnace DaleB HVAC 12 12-19-2008 10:42 PM




Top of Page | View New Posts

Copyright © 2003-2014 Escalate Media. All Rights Reserved.